Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy: Find Articles

NOTE

Use the Search for Materials box below to find all types of materials. The results page will display matches that are from journals in a section labeled Articles.

Search for Materials

 

Databases

UNT Libraries subscribes to the databases below that have content that is specific to philosophy. The search box above should query the databases, but you may search them individually as well. Additional free databases are noted on the On the Web tab of this guide.

Google Scholar Search

This search is broad and may find resources that are not immediately available from UNT Libraries. You can configure this search to have the results tell you whether you have full-text access through the UNT Libraries: start here, click on the Library Links option, search for University of North Texas System and then check the box to select it.

If UNT Libraries doesn't have it, in most instances access to materials from collections in other institutions is available through Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar Search

Search Strategies

The search box in the left column connects to the Libraries' Find Articles discovery tool that lets you simultaneously search 92%+ of our electronic resources for articles in the humanities, social sciences, or sciences.

Keyword Search

A single keyword search returns the highest number of results. The terms you search can appear in the fields for title, author, subject, main content or elsewhere within a record.

Refining Your Search

To narrow the results:

• Enclose words in quotation marks to ensure that the records retrieved include the two words as a phrase: "enlightenment philosophy" 

• Add more topic terms or phrases: environmental philosophy sustainability

• Limit results to peer reviewed sources or to sources that are available as full-text.

• Add more specific terms (see box below) and search again.

Specific Terms Related to Philosophy

Philosophy is the official subject term for the topic that is used in online catalogs and indexes.

Other subject terms that may prove helpful include:
Aesthetics
Causation
Consciousness
Dualism
Ethics
Ethnophilosophy
Experience
Fate and fatalism
Good and evil
Ideology
Knowledge, Theory of also known as Epistemology
Logic
Metaphysics
Monism
Ontology
Perfection
Pluralism
Reality
Truth
Will

There are many more related terms and subdivisions of the field.

Help: Ask Us!

Ask Us! Research Assistance

Additional Links

top