Academic Search Complete provides a scholarly collection providing full text coverage for over 10,500 journals for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Dates of Coverage: 1975 - Current

JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.

MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current

ERIC via EBSCOhost Resource Type: Research Database Title/Alternate Title:ERIC Subjects Covered:Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals. Contents: Dates of Coverage:Current, Coverage varies for journal titles indexed. Some citations date back to 1966. Help Links:Click the Helplink at the top right of the screen.

EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.

Project Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.

Legal Collection Full text of scholarly law journals, law review journals and legal news publications. Dates of Coverage: varies by title.

Credo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current

Twentieth Century American Poetry contains 50,000 poems by over 300 poets. Major movements of the century are included, as well as selected African American writers. The database aims to include a broad representative collection that reflects the diversity of modern American literary traditions, including major figures alongside historically important writers and younger emergent poets. The database aims to include as full a collection of the published works of each poet as possible, using the poet's collected editions when available. Dates of Coverage: 1900– Current.

Twentieth Century English Poetry contains the poetry of over 280 poets from 1900 to the present day. The database aims to include as full a collection of the published works of each poet as possible, using the poet's collected editions when available. The collection includes authors who originate from, or have been based in the British Isles, and selected major Commonwealth authors who are based outside the British Isles. Translations of non-English-language poetry are included for major figures within the scope of the collection and where the published works of an author include translations. Dates of Coverage: 1900– Current.

This database covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights from 1949 to the present. Coverage includes new editions, translations, and descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and musical requirements. Content covers one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues. The resource has approximately 31,000 plays published individually or in collections and over 600 monologues.

Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences
Contents: British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the collection Early British Periodicals. Dates of Coverage:1680s to the 1930s

The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) is the most extensive guide available to published writing on British and Irish history. It covers the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.

British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world. BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. Our collection currently contains over 1,270 volumes and is always growing.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Selected reference ebooks on Business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Includes Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science and others. Dates of Coverage: Varies with publication

Oxford Reference Online Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series. Dates of Coverage 2002 - Current

This database cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Coverage spans humanities and social sciences. Approximately 300 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications. Nearly 86,000 essays in over 7,000 printed anthologies and collections are included coverage dates as far back as 1985. Subject coverage includes: Archaeology, Architecture, Art, Children's Literature, Classical Studies, Drama, Economics, Fiction, Film, Folklore, History, Linguistics, Music, Poetry, Political Science, Psychology, Religion and Women's Studies.

This database provides full text of 330+ journals and abstracts and bibliographic indexing of 690+ noted scholarly sources and specialized magazines in the humanities. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Subjects covered include art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion. Periodical coverage dates back to 1910.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via CSA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Includes serials publications, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of Coverage: 1973 - Current

Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is the premier academic research and teaching tool for courses needing quality information for locating Children’s and Young Adult books and other media. The content includes over 2.6 million fiction/non-fiction records with 650,000+ national and international awards plus 540,000+ quality, professional reviews. It includes over 330,000 author/title links plus lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers 45 search-limiters to easily find appropriate materials such as: determining interest & reading levels select trade books based on standards create thematic, annotated biographies interpret reviews develop STEM book collections and more. Distant education students use a World Cat link to find materials at a local library. Students can set up their own My CLCD account to save their search assignments. Student access is FREE for one year after graduation.

English Short Title Catalogue Resource Type: Bibliographic Database Title/Alternate Title: English Short Title Catalogue (Catalog) Subjects Covered: Comprehensive bibliography that includes items printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, the United States (1776-1800), and Canada in any language. Also, items printed wholly or partly in English, or other British vernaculars, in any other part of the world Contents: The holdings of over 1,500 libraries around the world are represented Dates of Coverage: Includes all the material processed up to December 1997. Chronologically, the scope of the ESTC extends from the earliest printing in England (ca. 1473) through to the end of December, 1800

Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) covers many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Starting with the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this is an electronic collection of 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication

Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas: books, directories, bibles, sheet music, pamphlets and more.

Book Review Digest via EBSCOhost Abstracts/reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction from approximately 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals may include reviews of the same book includes children's books. Dates of Coverage: 1983 to present

WorldCat via FirstSearch is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. The database contains over 179 million records covering over 400 languages. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters. Dates of Coverage: Before 1000 BC– Current.

Google Scholar includes peer-reviewed literature (not all of which the UNT Libraries subscribes to), theses and dissertations, and informal publications like drafts of articles, working papers, and technical reports tied to institutions and individual scholars. Google Scholar provides links to full text for freely available publications and to those to which the UNT Libraries subscribe. Subscription links are only available from on campus or if you visit Settings and choose “University of North Texas System” from “Library Links”.

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable database of the most comprehensive Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide. WSBO provides over 130,000 annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials in Shakespeare and early modern England studies. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, Europe and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. Dates of Coverage: 1960 Current.

American Rhetoric Online Speech Bank Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events Dates of Coverage: 18th Century -current

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography a record, including images, of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Dates of Coverage: 2004- current

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language, serving as a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world.

CQ Press includes databases, online reference books, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, a source for basic information on a variety of topics, and CQ Weekly, which provides up-to-date information on the U.S. Congress and its activities. Dates of Coverage: 1929 - present (varies by source)

Opposing Viewpoints In Context covers today's hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. Includes pro/con essays topic overviews primary source documents biographies of social activists and reformers court-case overviews periodical articles statistical tables, charts and graphs images podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs and a national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline. Dates of Coverage: Current

Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Includes full text for over 450 journals. Dates of Coverage: varies by title, some start at 1915 to present.

Book Review Digest via EBSCOhost Abstracts/reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction from approximately 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals may include reviews of the same book includes children's books. Dates of Coverage: 1983 to present

Dallas Morning News Historical Archives (1885-1984) This resource offers full page reproductions of The Dallas Morning News newspaper from 1885-1984.

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.

This resource provides patrons access to an online archive of The Globe and Mail through ProQuest. This historical newspaper can provide genealogists, researchers, and scholars with access to first-hand accounts and coverage of politics, society, and historical events of the time. Date coverage of this newspaper ranges from 1844 to 2011.

A selection of newspapers.

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.

Access World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current

NOTE: The license for this product restricts authorized use to access by current faculty and students of the University of North Texas. The person accessing this link is liable for any infringement.