Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 4850: Literature in Context: Library Information

What is in Willis Library?

Please see the Willis Library Floor Maps to familiarize your self with the library resources. 

Floor Maps (Click on a map to enlarge it)

 
 

The 24 hours desk can check out:

  • Laptops
  • Help reserve study spaces on the 2nd floor

The Combined Service Desk can:

  • Check out books
  • Take fines or fees
  • Check out calculators
  • Check out phone chargers
  • Check out Course Reserves (books on hold at the desk requested by your instructor) with a two hour check-out time
  • Help with research questions at the Reference Desk

UNT Catalog 

  • You can request books be delivered to specific libraries on campus
  • You can use your Inter Library Loan (ILLid) Account to request items from other libraries (usually takes about a week)

 

The University of North Texas has 5 different libraries:

  1. Willis Library: Contains literature, Social Sciences, Music, and Special Collections.
  2. Eagle Commons Library: Contains Government Documents, Law, Political Science, Geography, and Business collections -- Located in Sycamore Hall
  3. Media Library: DVDs, Games, and Game Consoles -- Located in Chilton Hall
  4. Discovery Park Library: Houses Engineering and Library Science texts--Located at Discovery Park
  5. Remote Storage: Contains older items owned by UNT. Request items from Remote Storage online or by asking a librarian for help.

Music Library

  • Located on the fourth floor of Willis Library
  • One of the largest academic music collections in the United States
  • Over 300,000 books, periodicals, and scores
  • Nearly 900,000 sound recordings from wax cylinders to CDs
  • Many new music CDs in a wide range of genres from country, jazz, and reggae to rap, rock, pop, and indie
  • CDs and LPs are free for UNT students to check out
  • Ask a music librarian at the Music Reference Desk for more information and help

Archives and Rare Books

  • Located on the fourth floor of Willis Library (after exiting the elevators head straight back to find Special Libraries)
  • Contains approximately 12,000 items, ranging from clay tablets to pop-up books
  • Other items include scrolls, posters, maps, coins and paper money, and photographs
  • Rotating exhibits open to the public
  • See the rare book librarians for help and more information

Current and Bound Periodicals

  • Located at Remote Storage and can be requested for pick-up
  • Contains scholarly, peer-reviewed academic journals and select popular magazines and trade journals
  • Arranged alphabetically by the title of the journal/magazine
  • For assistance with periodicals see any library services desk employee

Microforms

  • Located at Remote Storage and can be requested for pick-up
  • Microforms are small reproductions of books, articles, dissertations, theses, newspapers, magazines, and images stored on photographic film
  • UNT owns over 2 million microforms on a variety of subjects
  • You can print microforms using the microform readers for 10 cents per page
  • Printing requires either a copy card or your student ID--you may load either of these with money at the Image Depot on the first floor of Willis
  • See the microforms librarian on the lower level for more assistance

Additional Links

top