Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Video Tutorials about Write-N-Cite
These videos demonstrate how to use and install Write-N-Cite, versions III and 4. Many students have encountered difficulty installing Write-N-Cite 4, so use version III instead if this happens to you. We teach how to use Write-N-Cite III in the Simple Citing with RefWorks workshop because it is the version we're allowed to have on the library computers.
Install Write-N-Cite On Your Computer
It takes just minutes to install Write-N-Cite software on your computer. Once you are in your RefWorks account, follow these steps:
- Select Tools from the toolbar, and then Write-N-Cite
- A window opens that provides links to download the most recent version of Write-N-Cite for Windows or Mac. Be sure to read through the compatibility details to get the right download for your computer. Contact Ask Us if you're not sure.
- The window also provides a unique login code for the current use of Write-N-Cite. Follow the directions for saving the code, which is only good for the most recent version of Write-N-Cite. Earlier versions require your RefWorks username and password for login.
- Once installed, Write-N-Cite will appear in your Start menu and you can make a shortcut to it for your desktop
Create In-Text Citations and Reference List
Write-N-Cite makes this process painless! Follow these steps to insert in-text citations and create your bibliography while writing your paper:
- Open Microsoft Word and select RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon
- Select Log In
- On-campus - use your RefWorks username and password. Off-campus - use the Login Code from the Write-N-Cite download page or the Group Code plus your RefWorks username and password. The Group Code should be your official UNT email address. Contact Ask Us if you need help.
- On the left of the RefWorks Settings, select the Style drop-down menu and pick the citation style you want for your in-text citations and bibliography
- Start typing your paper and when you need to insert a citation, select the Insert Citation drop-down menu and Insert New
- The Insert/Edit Citation window will open. Click on the reference you want to add and then OK. Check the box for Make Footnote if you want to insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation.
- When you are done writing the paper, select Bibliography Options, then Insert Bibliography. The bibliography will be inserted into the Word document in the citation style you chose earlier.
Remember to proofread your paper, citations, and bibliography - RefWorks occasionally makes a mistake.
What Is Write-N-Cite?
Write-N-Cite is a software that you can load on your own computer to help you create in-text citations and a cited reference list when you are writing a paper. You must have a RefWorks account and Microsoft Word in order to use Write-N-Cite. PC and MAC versions of the software are available from RefWorks.