Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 5110: Studies in US History (Pomerleau): Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources Access

Electronic Resources are only available to current UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is available on-campus only. Please visit How to Access Electronic Resources for more information.

Helpful Links

 
H-Net Discussion Networks - H-Net's e-mail lists function as electronic networks, linking professors, teachers and students in an egalitarian exchange of ideas and materials. Every aspect of academic life--research, teaching, controversies new and old--is open for discussion; decorum is maintained by H-Net's dedicated editors.
 

EBSCOhost Tutorials

For more tutorials related to EBSCOhost databases, visit the EBSCO Publishing channel.

Finding Book Reviews

Academic Search Complete - Provides a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications.

Book Review Digest - Abstracts/reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction from approximately 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals; may include reviews of the same book; includes children's books.

Bowker's Books in Print with Reviews - Provides ordering information for English-language books published throughout the world. Reviews are included for selected books.

H-Net Reviews - H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly review resource.

JSTOR - JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Business, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. Journals may be browsed or searched.

UNT Library Catalog - Perform a catalog SUBJECT search for the term, "Books -- Reviews -- Periodicals." This will lead you to 75 periodicals, including several online databases, dedicated to book reviews. Also, perform a catalog SUBJECT search for the term, "History -- Periodicals." This lists 213 journals and other periodicals dedicated to the study of history.

Census information

Conducting Census Research

In the UNT Libraries, there are census records available for some years in the Government Documents Department in the Eagle Commons Library and the Microforms Department on the Lower Level (ask for help at the Service Desk on the 1st floor).  Census records are also on line: 

Census records available through HeritageQuest Online

All U.S. Federal Population Census records from 1790 through 1940 may be viewed on HeritageQuest Online.  Only certain years and states are available for searching on HeritageQuest Online at this time. UMI, the company that makes HeritageQuest Online, is continually adding searching capability. As of 01/04 censuses available for searching are: 1790 – 1820, 1860 – 1870, 1900 – 1910, and some states in the 1920 and 1930 censuses.

Online vs. microfilm:

  • With online census records you can do some pretty sophisticated neighborhood analysis (head of household only!) with searching on place of birth, date of birth, race, gender, etc.
     
  • Sometimes online census records can be or have been enhanced for ease of reading. Sometimes the microfilm copies are easier to read.
    If you are searching for certain people or families, with an online census database you may have to “guess” how the name was misspelled; with Soundex microfilm, you may be able to eliminate the guess.
     
  • Photocopies are often better from the microfilm.

Historical Publications on the Bureau of the Census website:
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/titles.html

Digital Collections

Electronic Resources

Additional Links

top