Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discovering the Southwest Metroplex
The Special Collections department is the recipient of a 2014 Council of Library and Information Resources Hidden Collections grant. Find out more about this project on our project blog, "Discovering the Southwest Metroplex."
Rare Books and Archives
"The Special Collections department collects and preserves rare and unique materials including rare books, oral histories, university archives, historical manuscripts, maps, microfilm, photographs, art and artifacts. Students, faculty and the public are welcome to access collections and view special exhibits in our Fourth floor Reading Room."
The Rare Book and Texana Collection houses original historic documents, some of which may be useful in your research. Be sure to ask the employees of Special Collections for help, as the collection is not entirely cataloged. The UNT Archives also includes an Oral History Collection.
UNT Oral History Program
The UNT Oral History Program is a longstanding research initiative of the University of North Texas. Housed at Willis Library on UNT’s main campus in Denton, Texas, the Program is affiliated with the UNT Department of History and supported by the UNT College of Arts and Sciences.
The strengths of the collection include (but are not limited to) World War II history, with a collection of over 1,000 interviews with WWII veterans; Texas political history; Texas business history; history of the New Deal in Texas; civil rights history; and immigration history.
Oral History Transcripts in the UNT Digital Library
Use of this item is restricted to the UNT Community.
Special Collections Fall 2014 Hours
Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday: 8:30 AM - 8:30 PM
Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Contact Special Collections