Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.
Mexico: Photographs, Manuscripts, and Imprints, DeGolyer Library
A sample of the photographs, images, albums, books, pamphlets, manuscripts, and more, relating to Mexico held by SMU's DeGolyer Library.
Inside the The Mexican Revolution on the Border: Primary Sources from El Paso
The University of Texas at El Paso and the El Paso Public Library present a collection of primary source items relating to the Mexican Revolution. The collection includes 15 books and 10 postcards dating from 1910 to 1919.
A Continent Divided: The U.S. - Mexico War
"A Continent Divided is committed to digitizing primary source materials drawn from the UT-Arlington Library's Special Collections, long recognized as one of the premier repositories on the 1846-1848 conflict."
LLILAS Benson Digital Collections
"The Benson Latin American Collection [at UT Austin] and LLILAS host or have been partners in a broad array of digital projects and initiatives. We invite you to learn more about these rich collections, or browse and search their contents."
Wheelan Collection (TAMU)
"Wheelan was one of a legion of newspaper and magazine reporters and photographers who covered the Mexican Revolution. He probably arrived in Northern Mexico early in the winter of 1913-1914. The main attraction was General Francisco (Pancho) Villa, who held Ciudad Juarez, just across the Rio Grande from El Paso, Texas. By this time Villa had the reputation of being the most able military commander among the Constitutionalists, a coalition of revolutionaries in rebellion against the provisional government of General Victoriano Huerta. In February, 1913, Huerta had conspired in the overthrow of the constitutionally elected government of President Francisco Madero. Villa, a devout supporter of Madero, was one of several leaders in Northern Mexico who were fighting for the restoration of constitutional government and for revolutionary reforms."
Lumholtz Collection (American Museum of Natural History)
"The Lumholtz Collection consists of more than 2500 photographs taken in the course of four expeditions sponsored by the museum to the northwest of Mexico from 1890 to 1898 led by the Norwegian explorer, naturalist and ethnographer Carl S. Lumholtz."
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press
The University of Arizona
"The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."
Spanish Colonial Research Center (UNM-NPS)
"The SCRC Documentary Collection numbers over 350,000 pages of microfilmed colonial documents and over 6,000 maps, architectural plans, and sketches from Spanish, Mexican, Caribbean, French, Italian, and English archives as well as U.S. depositories. This invaluable collection provides essential sources of information for those interested in Spanish colonial and contemporary American Latino history in North America. The SCRC is hopeful that the user of this collection will find the documents to be significant sources of information for research, interpretation, and cultural resources management. Genealogists, educators and students will also find that the documents in this collection provide an enlightening view of our national story."
The Inquisition Collection (University of Notre Dame)
"This website is intended as a resource for students and researchers interested in histories of inquisitions worldwide. Though primarily focused on the Spanish inquisitions of the fifteenth to nineteenth centuries, attention is also paid to medieval inquisitions as well as to Portuguese, Roman and various New World inquisitions that existed from the sixteenth century onwards. Thematic introductory essays present various types of documents generated by and around these religious tribunals with references given for further reading. Examples of selected documents discussed in the essays are also provided to give viewers a virtual "hands-on" experience of examining such materials in their original format. Overall the goal is to stimulate and facilitate further exploration of inquisition history by familiarizing new generations with its extremely rich yet challenging documentary legacy."
The Los Primeros Libros de las Américas
"Primeros Libros is a digital collection of the first books printed in Mexico before 1601. These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies focused on a variety of academic fields. Approximately 220 unique titles are held in institutions around the world with most held in Mexico and the United States. Partner institutions contributing books to the project include: Biblioteca Palafoxiana in Puebla; Biblioteca Lafragua; Biblioteca Franciscana in Cholula; the Benson Latin American Collection at The University of Texas; the Cushing Library at Texas A&M; and the Biblioteca Histórica Marqués de Valdecilla of the University Complutense of Madrid."
Biblioteca Digital Mexicana
Mexican Digital Library (BDMx). Spanish language resource.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
"Explore 7,796,939 items from libraries, archives, and museums"
Calisphere (California Digital Library)
"Explore primary sources contributed by 120 libraries, archives, and museums."
Latin American Materials in Rare Books
Primary and Secondary Sources, Defined