Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Credo Reference: Your One Stop for Online Reference
Credo Reference is an online collection of over 670 dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and guides in all subject areas. Sample titles are:
- Biographical Dictionary of Transcendentalism
- Key Thinkers in Psychology
- One Hundred and One Botanists
- The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of Women
Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Libraries subscribe to other ebook collections containing reference sources. Some sample titles are:
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
Information on individual artists and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the present: rock, rhythm and blues, rap, country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical. Includes discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of musical terms, and appendix essays on the music industry, rap, grunge, and more. Provided through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
Biographies of economists who have challenged neoclassical economics and analyzed political and social impacts on economy are provided in this title from eBooks on EbscoHost.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
The professional lives of scientists from antiquity to the present are covered in this source provided through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture. Provided through the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
An in-depth art encyclopedia covering artist biographies up through contemporary times.
Print Reference Sources
Follow these steps to find print biography reference sources in the UNT Library Catalog:
- Perform a keyword search for a group, the type of book you want, plus biography, e.g., scientists and dictionary and biography.
- Choose the "Books and Journals" option from the Material dropdown menu, and then select Submit.
- Click on the title link of a book you want.
- Write down the Location and Call Number and note whether the Status is "Available."
- Ask for assistance at a service desk if you need help finding a book.
The books to the right are a small sample of the reference sources available at the UNT Libraries.
Selected Print Reference Sources
You can check out many print dictionaries and encyclopedias; however, those located in Reference collections must be used in the library.