Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art Sources for the Identification and Valuation of Fine and Decorative Art

A guide on Art Sources for the Identification and Valuation of Fine and Decorative Art for the art collector and seller.

Artist's Signatures and Monograms: Online Databases

Artist's Signatures and Monograms: Books

Artist's Signatures and Monograms


These books contain visual examples of artist's signatures or monograms used to sign works of art. Most of these signatures are of painters, sculptors and printmakers. For the signature or mark of an artist or manufacturer found on a decorative work of art, consult the section in this guide dealing with that particular medium.

 

Dictionary of Artists (Benezit)
N40 .D5213 2006 14 vols.

Classified Directory of Artist's Signatures, Symbols, and Monograms
N45. C36 1976b

Dictionary of Signatures & Monograms of American Artists: From the Colonial Period to the Mid-20th Century
N45.F35 1988

Marks and Monograms of the Modern Movement,1875-1930
N45. H37

Monogram Lexicon
N45. G6

Die Monogrammisten (Nagler)
N45.N2 1977 vols. 1-5 (Art Reference, 3rd floor, Willis Library)
Includes painters, sculptors, lithographers, engravers, gold and silversmiths and ceramists. Includes references to the prints of the Illustrated Bartsch.

European artists III: signatures and monograms from 1800: a directory
N45 .C383 2009

Abstract artists: signatures and monograms, an international directory
N6494.A2 C37 2007

Artists' monograms and indiscernible signatures II: an international directory from 1800
N45 .C375 2007

Old Masters: signatures and monograms, 1400-born 1800
N45 .C39 1996

Latin American artists' signatures and monograms: colonial era to 1996
N45 .C385 1997

Additional Links

top