Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art Sources for the Identification and Valuation of Fine and Decorative Art

A guide on Art Sources for the Identification and Valuation of Fine and Decorative Art for the art collector and seller.

Biographical Resources on Contemporary Artists: Online Databases

Biographical Resources for Non-Contemporary Artists: Online Databases
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password before the database will open.

Biographical Resources on Artists

Biographical Resources for Non-Contemporary Artists: Books


Artists and crafts persons from Antiquity through the Renaissance often had several spellings of their names used in different countries (especially Flemish Artists). These Reference books are the best source for finding these alternative spellings. Search for the artist's last name in the books listed below. Names are in alphabetical order in these books. Some sources are in German, but they are still the best sources available.


Dictionary of Artists (Benezit),
N40 .D5213 2006 14 vols.Now in English! One of the best sources available. Includes artists from antiquity to the 20th century.Also includes many artist's signatures. Also available above in an e-version.

Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon: die Bildenden Künstler aller Zeiten und Völker (General Artist-Lexicon)
N40 .A63 1992 47 vols. Biographical entries on Artists from Antiquity to the 20th century.

Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon: Bio-Bibliographischer Index nach Berufen = (The Artists of the World: bio-bibliographical index by profession)
N40 .A625 2002 14 vols.
This is a great source for fine craftsmen such as goldsmiths, engravers, printmakers, etc., from Antiquity to the 20th century.

Biographical Artist Dictionaries

 

African American Art and Artists
N6538 .N5 L38 2003

American Women Artists from Early Indian Times to the Present
N6505 .R8 1982

Australian Artist's Index
N7404 .M33 1986

Biographical Directory of Women Artists in Europe and America Since 1850
N6757 .D86 1989

Biographical Directory of Native American Painters
N6536 .L47 1995

Biographies of Inuit Artists
N6540 .B56 1992

British Artists 1880-1940
N6767 .J63 1990

Dictionary of Artists 1760-1893
N5053 .G75 1970

Index-Dictionary of Chinese Artists, Collectors and Connoisseurs
N7348 .S48 1988

Dictionary of Japanese Artists
N7358 .R6

Dictionary of Women Artists
N8354 .D53 1997 2 vols.

Grove Dictionary of Art

Index to Artistic Biography & Supplement
N40. H38 2002

International Dictionary of Art and Artists
N40. I55 1990

Latin American and Caribbean Artists of the Modern Era
N6502.4 .S45

North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century
N6503 .N67 1995

Museum of American Folk Art Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century American Folk Art and Artists
NK808 .R6 1990

Self-Taught, Outsider, and Folk Art: a Guide to American Artists
NK805 .S46 2000

Spanish Artists from the Fourth to the Twentieth Century
N7112 .S636 1993

St. James Guide to Native North American Artists
N6536 .S35 1998

Who was Who in American Art, 1564-1975
N6536 .W56 1999 v. 1-3

World Artists 1950-1980
N6489 .M37 1984

Artist Biography: Journal Articles

Artist Biography: Journal Articles


Search the databases below for biographical journal articles.

*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password.

Many contemporary artists do not yet have books or exhibition catalogs published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals.

Search examples (Names): Viola, Bill; Sherman, Cindy; Whiteread, Rachel; Smith, Kiki.

Artist Biography: Online Sources

Artist's Biographical Sources: On the Web


Artcylclopedia
A web-based encyclopedia that indexes approximately 6,000 artists, many contemporary.

AskArt.com
An index of American artists, includes images and bibliographies.

Additional Links

top