Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Artists: Contemporary

This guide provides resources on contemporary art, artists, movements, theory, and criticism in the contemporary art world. Contemporary is defined as 1970 to the present.

Find Contemporary Art Journal Articles

Databases for Journal Articles on Contemporary Art and Artists

Search the databases below for journal articles on contemporary art, artists and their work.

*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for your EUID and EUID password. *If you do not find the full-text of your journal article at the top level in your search results, be sure to click the link "Find Full Text" to be led to more possible sources for the online full-text of the article you need.

Many contemporary artists do not yet have books or exhibition catalogs published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals.

Search examples (Names): Viola, Bill; Sherman, Cindy; Whiteread, Rachel; Smith, Kiki.
Other keyword search examples: Postmodern and Art, Postmodern and Art and Criticism, Art and "20th Century", "Conceptual Art", "Feminist Theory" and Art, "Computer Art", Reconstruction and Art and Theory.

Contemporary Art Journals on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library

Contemporary Art Journals for Browsing  

The UNT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of art journals. The sampling listed below are the most important journals in the contemporary art world.
These journals are in paper format on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library. The journals are arranged on the shelves in alphabetical order by title.  

Art in America

Artforum International

FlashArt International

Frieze

ArtNews

Artweek

NY Arts

Art on Paper

Leonardo

Bomb

Journal of Aesthetics and Criticism

*
If you need to search for journal articles on a topic, see the "Articles" tab on this guide and search the art databases where you will find many full-text online journal articles.

 

Additional Links

top