Guides: Biology: Reference Sources

Credo Reference: Your One Stop for Online Reference

Credo Reference is an online collection of over 670 dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks and guides in all subject areas. Sample titles are:

The 100 Greatest Americans of the 20th Century: A Social Justice Hall of Fame
21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook
The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
Musical Terms, Symbols and Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary

Credo reference
Credo Reference offers full-text, aggregated content which covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. Patrons gain access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Dates of Coverage: Current

Internet Reference Sources

These online dictionaries, databases, encyclopedias and other resources provide background information about biology topics.

American Society of Mammalogists: Mammalian Species
This website contains 700+ highly detailed accounts of mammals, including general characters, distribution, behavior, reproduction, ecology and more.
Avibase
A database containing over 1.6 million records of information about ~10,000 species of birds from around the world. Avibase is hosted by Bird Studies Canada, the Canadian copartner of Birdlife International.
Biological Journals and Abbreviations
List of abbreviated biological journal titles and their corresponding full names from University of California Berkeley Library.
Encyclopedia of Life
An open access, joint effort to catalog information and pictures about all life forms on Earth. Sponsored by the MacArthur and Sloan Foundations, the Smithsonian Institute, and other partners.
National Plants Database
A service of the US Department of Agriculture, it includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Plants for a Future: Edible, Medicinal, and Useful Plants for a Healthier World
Plants for a Future, a registered charitable company in England and Wales, provides a database of over 7000 plants.

Print Reference Sources

Print reference books for biology are available at the Willis Library Services Desk and on the 3rd Floor. Some must be used in the library only. You can do a search in the Discover library catalog for [biology and dictionary] or [biology and encyclopedia] to find them. Please contact Erin O'Toole at erin.otoole@unt.edu if you need assistance.

Ask Us!

Need help? Then use the library's Ask Us service. Get help from real people face-to-face, by phone, or by email.

Biology

Credo Reference: Your One Stop for Online Reference

Internet Reference Sources

Print Reference Sources

Ask Us!

Additional Links