Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AEAH 4809: Topics in Eighteenth Century Art : Biography

Resources for the annotated bibliography assignment. Focus is on British Art. Dr. Denise Baxter.

Biography Books

Biographical Resources on Eighteenth-Century Artists and Other People: Databases

Search these databases for biographies. Be sure to enter names by last name, first name.

Example: Kauffmann, Angelica

*If accessing off campus you will be asked for an EUID and EUID password.
*English Short Title Catalogue is also available in paper format in the Rare Book Room (4th floor, Willis Library).

Biographical Resources on Eighteenth-Century Artists and Other People: Books

Biographical Resources on Eighteenth-Century Artists and Other People: Books

1. Search the UNT Libraries Catalog for Books and other materials on the Person.

Keyword search example:
Flaxman, John


2. For very hard-to-find Artist biographies:

Dictionary of Artists (Benezit),
N40 .D5213 2006 14 vols. Now in English! One of the best sources available. Includes artists from antiquity to the 20th century. Also includes many artist's signatures.

Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon: die Bildenden Künstler aller Zeiten und Völker (General Artist-Lexicon)
N40 .A63 1992 47 vols. Biographical entries on Artists from Antiquity to the 20th century.

Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon: Bio-Bibliographischer Index nach Berufen = (The Artists of the World: bio-bibliographical index by profession)
N40 .A625 2002 14 vols.
This is a great source for fine craftsmen such as goldsmiths, engravers, printmakers, etc., from Antiquity to the 20th century.


3. Biographical Artist Dictionaries that might be helpful


The books are located on the 3rd floor of the Willis Library. They are non-circulating, but you can make photocopies.

British Artists 1880-1940
N6767 .J63 1990

Dictionary of Artists 1760-1893
N5053 .G75 1970

Dictionary of Women Artists
N8354 .D53 1997 2 vols.

Grove Dictionary of Art
N31 .D5 1996 34

Index to Artistic Biography & Supplement
N40. H38 2002

International Dictionary of Art and Artists
N40. I55 1990

Additional Links

top