Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AEAH4805: Medieval Saints: Iconography of Saints

Resources on the lives of the saints, hagiography, liturgy and ritual. Dr. Mickey Abel

Books on Christian Saints

Iconography of Saints: Books

Iconography or Symbolism of Saints: Books

*Located in the Willis Library on the 3rd floor, unless stated otherwise. These books are Art Reference, so they are non-circulating. You can still scan (free), copy and use them in the library.  The names of saints and other symbols arranged alphabetically in these books.

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art 
N7560 .H34 (on Reserve at the Library Services Desk, 1st floor, Willis Library) 

The Dictionary of Symbols in Western Art
N7740 .C29 1995

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
N7560 .E53 1998

Iconography of Christian Art
N7830 .S35132 vols. 1-2

Saints and Their Emblems
N8080 .D7 1971

Encyclopedia of Women in Religious Art
N7793 .W65 A66 1996

Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern & Western Art
N7740 .H35 1994 (on Reserve at the Library Services Desk, 1st floor, Willis Library) 

A Handbook of Symbols in Christian Art
N8010 .S54 1976

Monastic Iconography in France from the Renaissance to the Revolution
N7949 .E9 1970

Signs & Symbols in Christian Art
N7830 .F37 1955

Christian Iconography; the History of Christian Art in the Middle Ages
N7832 .D4913 1965, vols. 1-2

The Oxford Dictionary of Popes
BX955.2 .K45 1986

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography: Themes Depicted in Works of Art
N7560 .E53 1998

Additional Links

top