Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Women's and Gender Studies

Resources for those interested in Women's and Gender Studies

How to Find Articles

The UNT Libraries subscribe to hundreds of online databases, and provide access to thousands of electronic journal titles, e-books, and an array of online art, music, and media materials. This tutorial provides basic information about  finding, and getting help with these systems in general, but if you need help, ask your librarian, Julie Leuzinger.

Understanding the Kinds of Resources Available

UNT Electronic Databases are extraordinarily diverse.  The following list is representative, but not complete:

  • Full Text:  Some contain the "full text," including actual journal or newspaper articles or other content.
  • Partial Full Text:  Contents may be full text or abstracts.
  • Not Full Text But Still Useful:  Many electronic databases were developed as tools to help you find information in other locations such as books, journals, or even web pages.
  • General Resources:  Some electronic databases cover a broad range of content areas and are considered "general resources."
  • Specialized:  Others focus on one content or subject area
  • Links to Articles:  More and more of our non-full text databases are now  providing a hyperlink to the full text article.  See the "Find Full Text" link in the database for details.

How to Find Electronic Databases

You essentially have two options.

  1. Find it Yourself: Find information yourself using one of our search/browse systems.
  2. Use a Guide or Ask for Help: Consult a "Research Guide" (like this one) specifically tailored to a subject or class, use the ASK US link at the top of every page, or ask your subject librarian.

Find it Yourself: Using the Online Articles Search

  1. From the libraries home pageyou will see a tabbed search box. The "Online Articles" Search can search through millions of electronically available full-text, scholarly articles. Enter your search terms.
  2. If you want to expand your criteria beyond articles to include other material types, you can do so from the advanced search.
  3. On the results screen, use the left-column facet selectors to further refine your search.

Find it Yourself: Using the Databases Search

From the libraries home pageyou will see a tabbed search box. Choose the "Databases" Tab, search by database title or by subject.

On the Results Page. Note the following:

  1. Linked Title: Provides direct access to the Database.  See "Access" (Above) for help with authentication.
  2. Information About the Resource: Each record provides information about the Resource.  Typically this includes the title, resource type, subjects covered, a description of the contents, coverage dates, help links/tutorials, and a contact person/service for additional help.
  3. About this Database Link: Provides more information about the database, typically including the contributor, resource types, and other special information.  You can also get a permanent link on this page for sharing or future use.

Citation Management

RefWorks Library Guide

Writing Help

The UNT Writing Center offers free writing tutoring to all currently enrolled UNT students in all disciplines and at all stages of their academic careers--from English composition students to graduate students writing theses and dissertations. 

Additional Links

top