Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSCI 2305: American Government

Library research guide for PSCI 2305

Newpapers

Newspapers are great primary source materials that offer first hand accounts of current and historical events. They differ from scholarly/peer reviewed sources as they are usually written by newspaper staff and reviewed and approved by the newspaper editor.

Your librarian has recommended using Access World News for this project; however, there are other resources for finding newspaper articles. If you need help, please contact the Political Science Librarian, Brea Henson

Access World News

Access World News provides full-text information from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international news sources. Includes newspapers, newsmagazines, news wires, and transcripts. Dates of Coverage: Current.

To use Access World News, go to the Databases tab (circled in red below) from the blue box on the library homepage. Then use the Select a Database drop down menu to select Access World News (highlighted in yellow below) and click the Go button to the right (circled in red below). If you are off campus, you will be prompted to sign in your EUID and Password.

First select local, regional, national or international level news. For this example we will look at USA - Texas (circled in red below). 

In the text box, enter your search term(s), these are key words from your research question. The example shows "DACA" (highlighted in yellow below). If you are searching for a phrase, put quotes around the phrase so the database knows you want to search the two words back to back, without the quotes the database will search for both words anywhere in the article. Click the orange Search button (circled in red below) below the text box to find articles.

You may need to limit your search results. You can use some of the limiters on the left or add additional search terms such as and tuition (highlighted in yellow below). Include the and so the database knows you want articles with both search terms.

If you need help, ask your Political Science Librarian, Brea Henson

Additional Links

top