Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 3000: Introduction to Literary Analysis and Interpretation Skills

Plays

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Compilations:

Items are edited together into single volumes.

Dictionaries:

Subject-specific dictionaries exist for a variety of topics.

Directories:

A book containing one or more alphabetical lists of the inhabitants of any locality, with their addresses and occupations; also a similar compilation dealing with the members of a particular profession, trade, or association, for example a Clerical or Medical Dictionary, etc. Infomine is good for subject specific directories.

Encyclopedias

Guides:

  • Archives and Manuscripts
  • Audiovisual
  • Databases
  • General
  • Patents

Handbooks

Patent and Statistical Databases

  1. Patents
  2. Statistics
  3. Reference

Technical Surveys and Reports

  1. Archives
  2. Audiovisual
  3. Copyright
  4. General

Thesauri -- Classified list of terms or keywords

  1. Archives
  2. Art and Architecture
  3. Classical Languages
  4. Cultures, Anthropology, and Sociology
  5. General
  6. Law and Politics
  7. Museology
  8. Music
  9. Science and Mathematics

Union Catalogs

National Union Catalog is an example. Another example is OCLC Worldcat.

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Profile Photo
Carol Hargis
Contact:
University of North Texas
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017
940-565-3563
Skype Contact: carol.hargis6

Table of Contents

[ProfessionalTraining]. (2015, Dec 21). Table of Contents in Word 2016 [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/Y5kFdH31k-g 

[StaceyRoshan]. (2016, Mar 15). Google Docs: Table of Contents, Headers, & Outline Tool [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/HV-gj06nd5g 

Additional Links

top