Guides: ENGL 5750: Bibliography and Methods of Research in Literature: Welcome and Class Information

Additional learning: History of the book - Free online courses

History of the Book - Harvard Online
This modular collection of courses encompasses all aspects of the book in its many manifestations, across time and space. Drawing on the rich collections of Harvard’s libraries and museums, learners are invited to explore the book not simply as a container of content, but as a meaningful physical object that has shaped the way we understand the world around us.

The first three modules focus on the advent of printing in Europe, the role of books as physical and intellectual objects during the Enlightenment, and the rise of the reading public.

The following four modules focuses on the making and meaning of Medieval manuscripts, the importance of scrolls during the age of the codex, and the role of manuscripts in Medieval art, prayer, and worship.

The final two modules introduce students to the world of medieval paleography, the science of reading old handwriting. Two modules, on monastic bookhand and notarial cursive, introduce you to some of the major hands from the period. Along the way, they will give you an unprecedented experience working with real medieval documents.

We begin with a look at The Book: Histories Across Time and Space in primarily Western contexts and medieval timeframes. Future courses will expand to additional historical periods and geographical regions.

This nine-part course is self-paced; you can begin anytime and with any module(s) that interest you. These courses are free.

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Compilations:

Items are edited together into single volumes.

Dictionaries:

Subject-specific dictionaries exist for a variety of topics.

Directories:

A book containing one or more alphabetical lists of the inhabitants of any locality, with their addresses and occupations; also a similar compilation dealing with the members of a particular profession, trade, or association, for example a Clerical or Medical Dictionary, etc.

Encyclopedias

Guides:

Archives and Manuscripts
Audiovisual
Databases
General
Patents

Handbooks

Patent and Statistical Databases

Patents
Statistics
Reference

Technical Surveys and Reports

Archives
Audiovisual
Copyright
General

Thesauri -- Classified list of terms or keywords

Archives
Art and Architecture
Classical Languages
Cultures, Anthropology, and Sociology
General
Law and Politics
Museology
Music
Science and Mathematics

Union Catalogs

National Union Catalog is an example. Another example is OCLC Worldcat.

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Carol Hargis

Email Me

Contact:

University of North Texas
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017

940-565-3563

Subjects: Communication Studies, English, Medieval Studies

Tutorial

EEBO Tutorial

ECCO Tutorial

Transcription Information

Consortium of European Research Libraries
Transcribing Medieval Manuscripts and Archival Material
Consortium of European Research Libraries
Bibliographical data
- Catalogues
- Full text
- Microforms
- Researching Print Runs
- Incunabula: Price Index
- Judaica
- Printers' Devices
- Provenance Information
- Standards for storing and exchanging bibliographic records
- Digitising Early Printed Books and Manuscripts
- Tools for transcribing manuscript and archival materials
- White gloves debate
- Watermarks and papermaking
- Various
Consortium of European Research Libraries
History of the book

Plagiarism Information

18.1.16 Student Standards of Academic Integrity
The following academic penalties may be assessed at the instructor’s discretion upon determination that academic dishonesty has occurred. Admonitions and educational assignments are not appealable.
Rewriter Tools
Paraphrasing tool to check how well you paraphrased.

Class Information

Professor: Dr. Nicole Smith

e-mail: ndsmith@unt.edu

Please send an email to schedule an appointment.

Information on Old Books

This information came from the Information on Old Books from the online Smithsonian Libraries.

To find the author's name, full title, the imprint (the city, publisher, and date), edition if not the first. Go to the Title page.

To find the date the book was registered for copyright (not necessarily the same as the publication date) along with coded information about edition and print copy. Go to the Copyright page.

Information on Old Books. Smithsonian Libraries. www.library.si.edu/departments/special-collections/information-old-books. Accessed 19 October 2017.

Publication HIstory

Catalogs

First Search / World Cat / OCLC : www.worldcat.org . This is a similar catalog developed as a computer database to which thousands of libraries in the U.S. and around the world contribute. This database is freely accessible online.

The National Union Catalog: Pre-1956 imprints (London: Mansell, 1968-1981). The NUC, available in print or on microfiche, is a published version of the combined card catalog of several hundred libraries in the U.S., including the Library of Congress.

author/subject bibliographies.

ERIC via OCLC
ERIC via FirstSearch Resource Type: Research Database Title/Alternate Title:ERIC Subjects Covered:Premier national bibliographic database of education literature. Contents: ERIC consists of two files: Resources in Education, covering the document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education, covering published journal literature from over 1000 periodicals. Dates of Coverage:Current, Coverage varies for journal titles indexed. Some citations date back to 1966. Help Links: Click the Help at the top left of the page Contacts: Go to Ask-Us for help
WorldCat Discovery

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
There will be a separate listing for each known or suspected edition of your book matched by imprint (city, publisher, date) and edition statement. Pre-1956 imprints (London: Mansell, 1968-1981).

Bibliography of British and Irish history
Over 490,000 records covering bibliographic data and historical writings on the British Isles with the British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 B.C. to the present. Contains books, articles in books, and journal articles. 682 journals and series are searched systematically for material.
Other Notes:Successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002-2009.
Biography reference bank
Biography Reference Bank via Ebscohost contains biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes. Indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Dates of Coverage: 1984 - present
Milton: A Bibliography
This bibliography tries to bring together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799.
MLA international bibliography
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in English as well as many other languages.
Scholarly electronic publishing bibliography
Provides articles, books, and other materials with information on scholarly electronic publishing .
World Shakespeare bibliography online
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable database of the most comprehensive Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide. WSBO provides over 130,000 annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials in Shakespeare and early modern England studies. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, Europe and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. Dates of Coverage: 1960 Current.
Oxford dictionary of national biography
A record, including images, of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Dates of Coverage: 2004- current
Iter gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Primary Text Databases

Prior to 1801 ESTC English Short Title Catalog

1473-1700 EEBO Early English Books Online

1701-1800 ECCO Eighteenth Century Collections Online

1639-1800 Evans Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw Shoemaker

1801-1819 Shaw Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Digital Edition

English short title catalogue 1473-1800
English Short Title Catalogue Resource Type: Bibliographic Database Title/Alternate Title: English Short Title Catalogue (Catalog) Subjects Covered: Comprehensive bibliography that includes items printed in the British Isles, Colonial America, the United States (1776-1800), and Canada; in any language. Also, items printed wholly or partly in English, or other British vernaculars, in any other part of the world Contents: The holdings of over 1,500 libraries around the world are represented Dates of Coverage: Includes all the material processed up to December 1997. Chronologically, the scope of the ESTC extends from the earliest printing in England (ca. 1473) through to the end of December, 1800
Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) covers many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. Starting with the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this is an electronic collection of 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas: books, directories, bibles, sheet music, pamphlets and more.
Early American imprints, Series I, Evans (1639-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera based on the renowned "American Bibliography" by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's "Supplement to Evans' American Bibliography,"
Early American imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted "American Bibliography, 1801-1819" by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Early Americas Digital Archive
The Early Americas Digital Archive provides access to poems, prose, histories, diaries, journals, and letters written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. English and Spanish text from the Early Americas digital archive (EADS) database and the Gateway to early American authors on the web are available. There are both author and title search tools available.
Oxford dictionary of national biography
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography a record, including images, of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors. Dates of Coverage: 2004- current
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library Selected reference ebooks on Business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Includes Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science and others. Dates of Coverage: Varies with publication
Oxford reference online
Oxford Reference Online Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series. Dates of Coverage 2002 - Current
British periodicals
British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the collection Early British Periodicals. Dates of Coverage:1680s to the 1930s

UNT Primary Resources

3Dhotbed: Extending Bibliographical Pedagogy through Additive Manufacturing
A collaborative project led by faculty from UNT and Texas A&M Libraries working to create access to affordable models of common tools used in book history instruction
GLOSSARY OF TERMS
Hand Press Era: period in which books were printed on hand-operated presses using moveable metal type set by hand, roughly between the mid 15th century and the end of the 18th century.
Digital Collections
The UNT Digital Library is a centralized repository for the rich collections held by the libraries, colleges, schools, and departments at the University of North Texas
The Portal to Texas History
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
UNT Libraries: Finding Aids
Use this tool to browse descriptions of our unique holdings. You can request these items to be viewed in the Special Collections Reading room on Willis Library's 4th Floor.
Library of Congress
Primary Source Sets

To Request Special Collections Materials

Create an Aeon Account

From the library catalog, click the Request for Onsite Use button. Special Collections materials do not circulate outside the department and must be consulted in the reading room during our open hours, Monday – Friday 9am-5pm.

Special Collections can help you create an account or place a request in the reading room during your visit.

please contact the special collections office at specialcollections@unt.edu or 940-565-2769

Databases

MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) via CSA abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Includes serials publications, abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Dates of Coverage: 1973 - Current
Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism Contains alphabetically arranged entries on critics, theorists, critical schools and movements, and critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Compiled by specialists from around the world. Designed for use by scholars as well as users interested in theoretical issues but who do not have specialized knowledge. Chronological range extends from Plato and Aristotle to the present, with wide geographical and cultural coverage. Dates of Coverage: Covers theoretical issues dating from Classical Greece to present.
Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Project Muse
Project Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.

Poetry

Library of Congress
Found Poetry from the Primary Source Sets
20th Century American Poetry
20th Century English Poetry

ENGL 5750: Bibliography and Methods of Research in Literature