Guides: ENGL 3911/4435: Gender, Identity, and Illness in 19th Century British Literature and Culture: Welcome and Class Information

English Website

Department of English Website
Find faculty publications, undergraduate advising, graduate program information, and more on the English Department's website.

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Compilations:

Items are edited together into single volumes.

Dictionaries:

Subject-specific dictionaries exist for a variety of topics.

Directories:

A book containing one or more alphabetical lists of the inhabitants of any locality, with their addresses and occupations; also a similar compilation dealing with the members of a particular profession, trade, or association, for example a Clerical or Medical Dictionary, etc. Infomine is good for subject specific directories.

Encyclopedias

Guides:

Archives and Manuscripts
Audiovisual
Databases
General
Patents

Handbooks

Patent and Statistical Databases

Patents
Statistics
Reference

Technical Surveys and Reports

Archives
Audiovisual
Copyright
General

Thesauri -- Classified list of terms or keywords

Archives
Art and Architecture
Classical Languages
Cultures, Anthropology, and Sociology
General
Law and Politics
Museology
Music
Science and Mathematics

Union Catalogs

National Union Catalog is an example. Another example is OCLC Worldcat.

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Carol Hargis

Email Me

Contact:

University of North Texas
UNT Libraries
1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton, TX 76203-5017

940-565-3563

Subjects: Communication Studies, English, Medieval Studies

Databases

MLA international bibliography
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Contains citations to journals, series, and books. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish. Dates of Coverage: Most publications are covered from 1926 - Current
Literature resource center
Literature Resource Center Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, bibliographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
EBSCOhost.
Provides access to various databases which can all be searched simultaneously
JSTOR
JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in the arts and sciences, business, language and literature, science, ecology and botany, and music: over 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Users can access the full-text content beginning with the first volume of each journal although recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and publishers of the journal in question. As a result, some titles may lag behind in terms of JSTOR coverage. Content may date back to 1890, up to present-day.
Project Muse
Project Muse serves as a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, granting patrons access to books and electronic journals through their online portal. Project Muse provides content from a number of university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers participating.

British Sources

British periodicals
Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences
Contents: British Periodicals Collection I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the collection Early British Periodicals. Dates of Coverage:1680s to the 1930s
Bibliography of British and Irish history
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) is the most extensive guide available to published writing on British and Irish history. It covers the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.
Other Notes:Successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002-2009.
British History Online
British History Online is a digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. We aim to support the learning, teaching and research of our users from around the world. BHO was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. Our collection currently contains over 1,270 volumes and is always growing.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library Selected reference ebooks on Business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science. Includes Cambridge Guide to Children's Books in English, Encyclopedia of Science & Religion, Encyclopedia of Science Technology & Ethics, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders, and World of Forensic Science and others. Dates of Coverage: Varies with publication
Oxford reference online
Oxford Reference Online Provides full text access to numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias by Oxford University Press as well as selected titles from the Oxford Companion series. Dates of Coverage 2002 - Current

Poetry

Library of Congress
Found Poetry from the Primary Source Sets

UNT Primary Resources

Digital Collections
The UNT Digital Library is a centralized repository for the rich collections held by the libraries, colleges, schools, and departments at the University of North Texas
The Portal to Texas History
A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas.
UNT Libraries: Finding Aids
Use this tool to browse descriptions of our unique holdings. You can request these items to be viewed in the Special Collections Reading room on Willis Library's 4th Floor.
Library of Congress
Primary Source Sets

University Libraries

ENGL 3911/4435: Gender, Identity, and Illness in 19th Century British Literature and Culture

English Website

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Databases

British Sources

Links

Poetry

UNT Primary Resources

ENGL 3911/4435: Gender, Identity, and Illness in 19th Century British Literature and Culture

English Website

FINDING AIDS GUIDE

Humanities and Instruction Librarian

Databases

British Sources

Links

Poetry

UNT Primary Resources

Additional Links