Guides: Maps: Introduction

Maps at the UNT Libraries

The UNT Libraries' Map Collection, which contains some of the Libraries' maps, atlases, and posters, is housed in the Sycamore Library at Sycamore Hall. Additional maps and posters are located in Remote Storage. Materials housed in remote storage can be brought to campus upon request.

A few maps are listed in the UNT Library Catalog, but many are not. If you want to know if we have a map, or if you want someone to retrieve a map for you, ask for assistance at the Library Services Desk in the Sycamore Library.

The UNT Digital Library and The Portal to Texas History provide access to digitized maps from the UNT Government Documents Department as well as other collection partners.

Always check the publication date when you use a map or atlas. The world's borders change often these days, so the maps we have are not always up to date.

Major Internet Map Sites

Bing Maps
Free mapping service allows you to create, customize, and save easy-to-read digital maps pinpointing almost any location within the United States or Canada. Also includes traffic reports, a business directory, pictures, detailed maps of venues, and numerous calculators and other apps.
Google Maps
Generates a zoomable map focused on an address or ZIP code. Provides driving directions, interactive maps, and satellite/aerial imagery for anywhere in the world. Can also search by keyword such as type of business.
Library of Congress Map Collections
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which this online set represents only a small fraction: those that have been converted to digital form. The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.
National Geographic Maps
Shop for maps and globes or generate a custom-made map using an interactive mapping tool, browse an extensive collection of historic and contemporary maps.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection at UT - Austin
Extensive collection of scanned images of outline maps, as well as links to numerous other maps available on the Internet.
U.S. Geological Survey Products
Find USGS maps, data, web tools, multimedia products, and other publications and products.
UNT Libraries Census Guide
Guide to using the United States census products to find historical, genealogical, geographical, and statistical information.

University Libraries

Maps

CATALOG SEARCH

ABOUT

HELP

QUESTIONS

Maps at the UNT Libraries

Major Internet Map Sites

Maps

Maps at the UNT Libraries

Major Internet Map Sites

Additional Links