How to use the United States Congressional Serial Set
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Government Information Connection: History Portal" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Resources in the Government Documents Department for History students. Includes resources in all formats.
Last Updated: Jan 21, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.unt.edu/gichistoryportal Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

HIST 5100 spring 2014 research & writing assignment

AGENCIES

We've moved!  Several of the links listed below will not work yet.  We'll try to get that corrected ASAP.

REFERENCE

AUDIENCES

Databases - History - Government Information Focus

See also Databases - History - General

You can get into these UNT Library-subscribed databases remotely. Type in your UNT EUID and password when requested.

Can't get in?

  1. Try the Virtual Private Network (VPN), an additional port: http://vpn.unt.edu
    .
  2. The maximum number of users may have been reached. Please try later.
  • CQ Press
    Coverage: 1929-present. This gateway provides access to the CQ Researcher, a source for basic information on a variety of topics, and the CQ Weekly, which provides up-to-date information on the U.S. Congress and its activities.
  • CQ Press Political Reference Suite
    Coverage: varies by source. This reference suite integrates numerous CQ Press resources on government and politics into one electronic format, including detailed information on U.S. politics, politicians, elections, and the U.S. government.
  • Handbook of Texas Online
    Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association. Full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition.
  • Heritage Quest Online
    Contents: U.S. Federal Census, books, PERSI, Revolutionary War, Freedman's Bank, and the U.S. Serial Set. Dates of Coverage: Federal census, 1790 - 1930; Searchable name indexes are available for the 1790 through 1820, 1860, 1870, and 1900 through 1930 censuses.
  • Military & Government Collection
    Coverage varies by source. Contains thousands of military publications.
  • ProQuest Congressional
    Full text and index. Congressional publications including reports, bills, laws, regulations, current and previous Members of Congress, campaign finance information, financial disclosures, voting records, and committee membership.
  • ProQuest Government Periodicals Index
    Articles from periodicals produced by the United States government. Multidisciplinary subjects include: Criminal Justice, Emergency Administration & Planning, Political Science, Public Administration.
 

Welcome to the UNT Libraries' Government Documents Department

The UNT Libraries' Government Documents Collection on the 3rd floor of Willis Library includes over 1 million items, in a variety of formats: electronic, print, microform, audiovisual, musical scores, maps, posters, DVDs, LPs, CD-ROMs, and "virtual" Web documents.  Though we have only been an official Federal Depository Library since 1947, we have acquired documents going back to the founding of the U.S. and the State of Texas.

  • In 1994, our Depository was designated an electronic Gateway for the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO).

  • Through the Internet, we can now provide the whole world with directed access to full-text federal, state, local, foreign, and international government information.

  • Our primary mission as a Federal Depository Library remains the same today as it was fifty years ago: Provide free public access to information produced by the government.
 

Government Documents Staff

Office and Service Desk: 3rd floor, Willis Library. 

Phone: 940-565-2870

Email: govinfo@unt.edu

Department Head: Jesse Silva

Members: Bobby Griffith, Erica Kaufman, Jeffrey Levy, Betty Monterroso, Andrea Myrick-Langston, Jenne Turner.

Our Website and Hours: http://www.library.unt.edu/government-documents

 

The UNT Digital Library

The UNT Digital Library, created by Digital Projects, http://digital.library.unt.edu/ contains a vast quantity of historical documents.

To browse, use this URL: http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/partners/UNTGD/browse/ Once in, search by Collection.

You may also need to go to the Portal to Texas History. See the detailed description on the Texas tab of this guide.

Older Documents

Most of our older documents are not easily found in the online catalog. WorldCat might be a good place to search if you don’t find something in the UNT catalog. Please keep in mind that we actually have a lot of the older documents that are cataloged in WorldCat, but they won’t show as available in our library. WorldCat is a UNT Libraries’ subscription.

If this is confusing, we'll be happy to help you. Just ask at the Service Desk.

  • WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
    WorldCat via FirstSearch is the OCLC Online Union Catalog and contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by your library or libraries around the world.

Databases - History - General

See also Databases - History - Government Information Focus.

You can get into these UNT Library-subscribed databases remotely. Type in your UNT EUID and password when requested.

Can't get in?

  1. Try the Virtual Private Network (VPN), an additional port: http://vpn.unt.edu
    .
  2. The maximum number of users may have been reached. Please try later.

Business Collection Librarian

Profile Image
Jeffrey Levy
Logo - FacebookLogo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
Government Documents Department
University of North Texas Libraries
1155 Union Circle, Box 305190
Denton, TX 76203
940-565-2013
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip