AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a machine-readable database of bibliographic records covers materials dating from the 16th century to the present. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
- Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously. A comprehensive list of all journals covered by AULIMP since 1949 is available as the Historical Index of AULIMP titles
. You may also browse by specific military journal title.
- America’s Story from America's Library
Fun facts and stories about history, popular culture, famous Americans, and the various states. This site uses excellent illustrations, video and sound.
- Bank Data and Statistics
Use searchable databases to find information on specific banks, their branches, and the industry.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications July 1976–current
A commercial web version of the GPO cataloging records for federal documents. Available to members of the UNT community. (MarciveWeb DOCS)
- CDC Wonder
This database contains public health information produced by the Centers for Disease Control, including Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports, Prevention Guidelines, and data sets.
- CHID Online, the Combined Health Information Database
CHID is a database produced by health-related agencies of the federal government. This database provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for health information and health education resources. The value of this database is that it lists a wealth of health promotion and education materials and program descriptions that are not indexed elsewhere. New records are added quarterly and current listings are checked regularly to help ensure that all entries are up to date and still available from their original sources. Some older records are retained for archival purposes.
- Child Welfare Information Gateway
Child Welfare Information Gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption and related professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely, essential information. Formerly the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse, Child Welfare Information Gateway provide access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more. A service of the Children’s Bureau
, Administration for Children and Families
, and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Defense Technical Information Center
DTIC is the central Department of Defense facility providing access to and facilitating the exchange of scientific and technical information. Select Technical Reports (STINET)
for all unclassified, unlimited citations to documents added into DTIC from late December 1974 to present.
- Development Experience Clearinghouse
Online repository of materials produced by the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID), relating to its mission of providing international humanitarian aid and economic, agricultural, trade, health, and democratic support. The collection includes oral histories, program planning documents, and descriptions of past projects that USAID has sponsored.
- Disaster Information
This FEMA page includes natural and manmade disaster information, statistics, and maps from 1995 to the present.
- DOE Directives
Portal to directives, standards, policies, and regulations issued by the Department of Energy. Current, draft, and archived directives are available, in addition to a forms page and technical standards.
- DOE Information Bridge
A component of EnergyFiles, provides free, convenient, and quick access to full-text and bibliographic records of DOE-sponsored research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.
- E-print Network
This database from the Department of Energy is a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields (primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE), all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels. E-prints may include may include preprints, reprints, technical reports, conference publications or other means of electronic communication.
- ECOTOX Database
This database "provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life." Peer-reviewed journal articles are included in the database, which is searchable by kingdom, species, chemical, habitat, and publication.
- EDGAR Database
Search for U.S. companies & their filings, as well as mutual funds & prospectuses.
- EIA [Energy Information Administration] Publications Book Shelf
Search for full-text publications, directories, and feature articles organized into the categories.
- Energy Citations Database
This database contains citations for Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports covering the period of January 1, 1994 to present. Current Department citations are added weekly as new reports are made available. Many of these reports cover emergency management issues within the national and international energy communities.
- Environmental Information Management System (EIMS)
Provided by the Environmental Protection Agency, EIMS allows users to search for scientific environmental information, across a variety of environmental databases. The type of information included consists of data sets, documents, multimedia presentations, project documentation, and more. Users can search by information type, keyword, collection, or partner.
- EPA Publications and Newsletters
Numerous catalogs and databases of publications related to the environment.
- ERIC Database
Search the ERIC Database records indexed since 1989.
GPO‘s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to authentic, authorized versions of government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies. The preservation function of FDsys will ensure public access to government information even as technology changes.
- FED In Print
An index to the published economic research of the Federal Reserve Banks.
- Federal Citizen Information Center
Search and download the full-text versions of hundreds of the best federal consumer publications, many with K–12 applications.
- Federal Land Patent Records
More than 2 million land patents issued between 1820 and 1908 are available for searching. “This site offers researchers a source of information on the initial transfer of land titles from the Federal government to individuals.” Search by state, individual last name, county, meridian, accession number, serial patent number, and more. Note: “the site does not cover the thirteen colonies, their territories, and a few other states.”
Provides access to statistics from over 100 U.S. agencies, browsable by subject, agency, and geography.
One of the many NTIS information programs, FedWorld serves as the “online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal Government.”
- Food Safety Research
This database contains information about federal food safety research projects. Where available, contact information for project primary investigators is provided.
- FREE - Federal Resources for Educational Excellence
More than 30 Federal agencies formed a working group to make hundreds of federally supported education resources available at this web site.
- Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM)
This site provides access to thousands of educational materials, including lesson plans, activities, and projects. Users can browse by subject or keyword, search by subject, keyword, title, or grade level, and can limit their search results to free resources.
- GAO Reports and Testimonies
This database allows users to browse or search reports and testimonies issued by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (formerly the General Accounting Office) from as far back as 1975. Reports can be searched by date, title, topic, keyword, and agency/organization. Full-text is provided when available.
- Geographic Names Information System
This database contains information about "almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States," including feature name & type, elevation, latitude & longitude, other names, etc.
- Global Change Master Directory (GCMD)
The GCMD provides access to data, related services, and ancillary information relevant to global change and Earth science research. The directory also offers online authoring tools to providers of data and services, facilitating the capability to make their products available to the Earth science community. In addition, citation information to properly credit data set contributions is offered, along with direct links to data and services. Search data using controlled keywords, free-text searches, map/date searches or any combination of these. Users may also search or refine a search by data center, location, instrument, platform, project, or temporal/spatial resolution.
- Global Invasive Species Database
The Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities. It focuses on invasive alien species that threaten native biodiversity and covers all taxonomic groups from micro-organisms to animals and plants in all ecosystems. Species information is either supplied by or reviewed by expert contributors from around the world. The Global Invasive Species Database is managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG) of the IUCN Species Survival Commission. It was developed as part of the global initiative on invasive species led by the Global Invasive Species Programme (GISP) and is supported through partnerships with the National Biological Information Infrastructure, Manaaki Whenua-Landcare Research and the University of Auckland.
- Global Legal Information Network (GLIN)
GLIN "is a database of laws, regulations, and other complementary legal sources. The documents included...are contributed by the governments of the members from the original, official texts...Anyone may sign on to the system as a guest and view the summaries and citation information for the laws and legal writings in the database." Subject searching may be performed using the GLIN Thesaurus
- Google U.S. Government Search
A subdivision of the general Internet search engine Google
, this search engine searches all United States federal, state, and local government sites that have .gov or .mil domains, as well as selected government sites that have .com, .org, .us, or .edu domains (eg.: usps.com, americorps.org, .ca.us, ndu.edu).
- Government Internet Sites by SuDoc Call Number
A unique index to government publications on agency web sites organized by Superintendent of Documents Call numbers.
- GrayLIT Network, A Science Portal of Technical Reports
The GrayLIT Network, a portal for technical reports generated through federally funded research and development projects, was discontinued in 2007. You can still recreate the search performed by the GrayLit Network by using the Advanced Search in Science.gov
and choosing to search only the databases from DTIC, DOE, EPA, and NASA. Collections in the GrayLIT collaboration included the DOE Information Bridge; the Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) Report Collection; the EPA National Environmental Publications Internet Site (NEPIS); the NASA Jet Propulsion Lab Reports; and the NASA Langley Technical Reports.
- Hazardous Substances Data Bank
This data bank allows searching across multiple databases, including IRIS, TOXLINE, TRI, and CCRIS. Users can search by keyword, CAS registry number, or chemical name, or can browse the index.
Gateway to consumer health and human services information from federal agencies.
- Index of Watershed Indicators
A compilation of information on the "health" of aquatic resources in the United States. The Index looks at a variety of indicators that point to whether rivers, lakes, streams, wetlands and coastal areas are "well" or "ailing" and whether activities on the surrounding lands that affect our waters are placing them at risk. Surf Your Watershed
for current local information.
- Infomine: Government Information
Well-organized access to important university-level research and educational tools on the Internet. Provides annotations, indexes, and a great number of options in browsing and searching.
- Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
EPA's Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) is a human health assessment program that evaluates information on health effects that may result from exposure to environmental contaminants. Through the IRIS Program, EPA provides the highest quality science-based human health assessments to support the Agency's regulatory activities. The IRIS database is web accessible and contains information on more than 550 chemical substances.
- ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information System
Authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
This site provides a wealth of health information for consumers and professionals alike. Browse or search for information on over 570 health topics, various prescription & over-the-counter medicines, a medical encyclopedia, dictionaries, and recent health news. Information is also provided en Español
- The NARIC Knowledgebase
A database of general disability resources, such as information on Internet sites, journals, magazines, newsletters, and organizations, reference publications, and disability-related databases.
- NASA Technical Reports Server
The NTRS is a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994.
- National Academies Press
Online access to more than 1000 full-text publications in science, technology and public policy, from the publisher for the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 210,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
- National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS)
Timely access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources. Provides satellite products, environmental information, and official assessments of the environment in support of societal and economic decisions.
- National Image Library
A library of public domain images, available to download. Search images of wildlife, plants, and other "scenics" by keyword, title, subject, abstract, creator, or date.
- National Transportation Safety Board
The National Transportation Safety Board investigates civil aviation accidents in the United States and significant accidents in the other modes of transportation - highway, marine, pipeline and hazardous material, and railroad. It also conducts special investigations and safety studies and issues safety recommendations to prevent future accidents.
- Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library (NCSTRL)
An international collection of computer science research reports and papers made available for non-commercial use from a number of participating institutions and archives.
NIOSHTIC-2 is a searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, supported in whole or in part by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH).
- NTIS Search
NTIS offers a Simple Search feature and an Advanced Search feature via the Internet for over 700,000 titles. Use these features to locate full-text electronic publications and/or order publications and other products issued by NTIS since 1990. Searching capability includes Boolean operators, Phrases, and Adjacent terms. Limit your search by Subject Area or search using a Technical Report number.
- Online Bookstore
Identify and order inexpensive federal documents, CD-ROM's, or place subscriptions to hundreds of federal agency periodicals.
A database sponsored by DOE's Office of Declassification, provides easy, timely access to recently declassified information, including information declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act requests.
- Patent Full-Text and Full-Page Image Databases
Search for issued patents, full-text since 1976 and full-page images since 1790, or search for patent applications published since March 2001. This is not a comprehensive patent search - some patent numbers have been withdrawn and the database does not include utility, design, plant, and reissue patents.
- Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
"PHIL is an extensive collection of still images, image sets, and multimedia files related to public health." Users may search the image library by keyword or image ID, or may browse by category. Note: "Some images may be unsuitable for children. Viewing discretion is advised."
A database of more than 12 million references to articles published in 4500 biomedical & life science journals. Coverage is from the mid-1960's to the present.
- Regional Economic Conditions: RECON
Provides economic information by county or metropolitan statistical area for all 50 states. Users can find employment and income data, as well as real estate data, over a 5 year period. County overviews are also available.
- REHABDATA Main: Disability and Rehabilitation Literature, 1993-Present
REHABDATA is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The Current Literature file, 1993-present, describes documents and articles covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The Historical Literature file covers the same topics from 1956 to 1992.
- Research Library E-Print Archive
- RTK NET: Right to Know Network
A network providing free access to numerous databases, text files, and conferences on the environment, housing, and sustainable development. With the information available on RTK NET, you can identify specific factories and their environmental effects; analyze reinvestment by banks in their communities; and assess people and communities affected.
This site is an attempt to consolidate all government science and technology resources on one site. Users can browse by topic, or perform a keyword search across the science.gov site as well as multiple science & technology databases.
- Search for Private Schools
Based on data from the Private School Universe Survey of 1999-2000, this database allows users to search for private schools by location, name, religious affiliation, school type, number of students, and more.
- State List: The Electronic Source of State Publications
Links to state publication checklists and shipping lists that are currently available on the Internet from 37 states.
- STINET Scientific & Technical Report Collection
A key element of the DoD Scientific and Technical Information Program, DTIC
is the central Department of Defense facility for providing access to and facilitating the exchange of scientific and technical information. Part of DTIC is STINET. The scope of the STINET collection includes areas normally associated with U.S. Department of Defense research; however, since DoD's interests are widespread, the collection also contains information relating to hard sciences such as biology and medicine; environment; behavioral and social sciences; DoD directives and instructions; budget estimates and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries (RDDS); conference proceedings; and patents and patent applications. DTIC has identified 25 broad subject fields
and 251 groups to categorize the areas of scientific and technical interest. These fields and groups provide the structure for the subject grouping of technical rep
- Street Terms: Drugs and the Drug Trade
Contains "over 2300 street terms that refer to specific drug types or drug activity."
- Supreme Court Decisions, 1937-1975
Search & view the full text of Supreme Court decisions issued between 1937 and 1975. Search by case or by keyword.
Search for current legislation by bill number (i.e., H.R. 4752) or keyword (i.e., national service). Provides full-text of the bill, as well as information on the bill status and sponsors.
- Toxic Release Inventory (TRI)
TRI is a valuable source of information regarding 650 toxic chemicals that are being used, manufactured, treated, transported, or released into the environment.
- Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS)
This search engine allows you to search the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office's database of registered trademarks and prior pending applications to find marks that may prevent registration due to a likelihood of confusion refusal.
As the U.S. government‘s official Web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the Web. It is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to provide a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency Web sites.
- USGS Publications Warehouse
Access to over 100,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the Bureau.
- Vietnam-Era Prisoner-of-War/Missing-in-Action Database
This database provides information for researchers investigating U.S. military personnel listed as unaccounted for as of December 1991. Researchers can search by word or portion of a word. The Library of Congress will make a microfilmed copy of a particular record available through interlibrary loan for no fee, and will also make paper copies for a fee.