This is the "U.S. Budget" page of the "Budgets" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Links and other information to help research the federal, state, and UNT budgets at UNT and on the Internet.
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.unt.edu/gicbudgets Print Guide RSS Updates

U.S. Budget Print Page
  Search: 
 

AGENCIES

We've moved!  Several of the links listed below will not work yet.  We'll try to get that corrected ASAP.

REFERENCE

AUDIENCES

Primary Sources

The most recent federal budget publications are on reserve at the Government Documents Service Desk. Budgets for previous years are also available in the Government Documents Department. Consult the library catalog or inquire at the Service Desk on the Third Floor of Willis Library.

Many budget-related publications can be found on the Internet at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Web site and at the Government Printing Office's FDsys Web site.

  • The President's Budget for Fiscal Year ...
    The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) assists the President in overseeing the preparation of the federal budget and supervises its administration in Executive Branch agencies. This Web page Includes all the official budget documents, numerous supporting documents, and additional sources of information such as downloadable spreadsheets and budgets for prior years.
  • Budget of the U.S. Government
    Resource Type: Research Database
    Title/Alternate Title: Budget of the United States Government
    Subjects Covered: Political Science, Government Information
    Contents: The budget of the United States government
    Dates of Coverage: 1996 - current
    Help Links: Budget Tutorial
    Contact: Jesse.Silva@unt.edu
    Other Notes: Contains the full text of the budget message of the President and presents the President's budget proposals. Also included are historical tables, appendices, and analytical perspectives.
  • About Budget of the United States Government
    Describes the budget documents and gives tips on how to search them online.
  • Economic Report of the President
    Within ten days after the President submits the budget to Congress, the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors submits this overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Supplementary reports can be issued to Congress later, containing additional and/or revised recommendations.

Glossaries

These glossaries defind economic and budgetary terms as they apply to the federal budget.

  • Congressional Budget Office Glossary
    This glossary defines various economic and budgetary terms as they are commonly used in reports by the Congressional Budget Office. The document is updated periodically, principally to keep abreast of current laws. In some cases, the entries sacrifice technical precision for the sake of brevity and clarity.
  • Federal Budget Glossary
    Definitions of budget-related terms provided by the National Priorities Project.

Related Resources

  • The Budget Process
    These Congressional Research Service reports provide an overview of the federal budget and authorizations processes. Includes explanations of terms and tables showing trends in spending levels.
  • Build a Better Budget!
    Do you want to learn more about what’s going on in Washington? Would you like to share your thoughts about our government’s spending priorities with Congress? This interactive game from the National Priorities Project will help you do it all.
  • The Debt to the Penny and Who Holds It
    Current and historical data and answers to frequently asked questions regarding the national debt.
  • Federal Budget
    Learn how federal budget and economic policies affect the ability of Americans to shape the future of their own communities through nonprofits and foundations. Provided by Independent Sector, a nonpartisan network for nonprofits, foundations, and corporate giving programs committed to advancing the common good in America and around the world.
  • Federal Budget Allocation Activity
    This simulation game from the Center on Congress at Indiana University allows you to try your hand at allocating the federal budget.
  • Introduction to the Federal Budget Process
    A brief overview of the federal budget process, including the President’s budget request, which kicks off the budget process each year; the congressional budget resolution—how it is developed and what it contains; how the terms of the budget resolution are enforced by the House and Senate; and budget “reconciliation,” a special procedure used in some years to facilitate the passage of spending and tax legislation.
  • National Priorities Project
    This private organization works to inform taxpayers about federal spending and the federal budgeting process by providing educational materials, seminars, interactive tools, and other resources.
  • Overview of the Executive Budget Process
    The executive budget process consists of three main phases: development of the President’s budget; interaction with Congress; and execution of the budget. This Congressional Research Service fact sheet provides a brief overview of each of these phases. [PDF file requires Adobe Reader]
  • Recover.gov
    This Web site was created under the Recovery Act to show the American public how Recovery funds are being spent by recipients of contracts, grants, and loans, and the distribution of Recovery entitlements and tax benefits. Also allows for the reporting of potential fraud, waste, and abuse.
  • The U.S. National Debt Clock
    A running account of the exact value of the national debt.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip