This is the "Introduction" page of the "Find Articles: Search All Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find Articles: Search All Databases  

Learn how to use Find Articles, the Libraries' discovery tool that searches most of our databases simultaneously.
Last Updated: Sep 12, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.unt.edu/faw Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Find Articles?

Find Articles is a software known as a "discovery tool." It allows you to simultaneously search 92% of the UNT Libraries' electronic resources. This means you can look for articles in EBSCOhost, JSTOR and many other databases with one search.

Find Articles also links you to the full text of articles, making it a quick way to get a handful of articles on a topic. It's great for short papers and a good starting point for more involved papers and projects.

For theses and dissertations, be sure to contact your library liaison to make certain you are searching all of the important databases in your topic area.

 

Ask Us!

Questions? Use Ask Us services (email, phone, or in-person help).

Subject specific help needed? Contact your library liaison for an appointment.
Visit our Library Services page to see what UNT libraries can do for you.

 

Keywords vs. Stopwords

keyKeywords are the type of words you want to use in a database or library catalog search. They actually have content and meaning and are the "key" to finding relevant articles. Examples are: organelles, photosynthesis, North America.

 

stop sign 

Stopwords do not have any meaning for a database and are ignored, so leave them out of your searches. Examples are: is, how, why, by.

 

Develop Search Terms

Before you even start to search in any database, you should develop search terms and decide how you will combine them. Find Articles will automatically look for articles that contain all of the words you enter. Follow these steps to come up with various search statements, or phrases, to enter in Find Articles:

1. Identify the keywords in your research question. Keywords are words that carry content and meaning. The keywords in the research question "What is the feeding range of the blue whale in the Pacific Ocean?" are feeding range, blue whale and Pacific Ocean.

2. Brainstorm synonyms for your keywords. Think of words similar to your keywords in case a database doesn't find your original keywords. Synonyms for blue whale are baleen whale and Balaenoptera musculus.

4. Create different combinations of keywords. When you only enter one word in a database, you'll retrieve too many articles and most won't have anything to do with your topic. So make up combinations of two or more search terms to narrow your search. Some examples are: "blue whale feeding range," "baleen whale feeding range," "blue whale food range Pacific Ocean."

5. Add keywords to limit the type of article you retrieve. If you want a to find a literature review, add "review" to your keywords. To find an empirical research study, add "study" to your keywords.

6. Record the search terms you use. Once you get started searching, keep a record of the search statements that worked well, and which ones didn't. Then you won't repeat unfruitful searches in the future and can concentrate on refining the successful searches.

 

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Erin O'Toole

Find Keyword Synonyms

When you don't know synonyms for your topic keywords, you can use online dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books to find them.

  • Credo General Reference
    A multidisciplinary collection of over 650 online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and more.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    All subjects are covered in this colllection of online reference books, including Twayne's Authors series, and the Encyclopedia of World Biography.
 

Search SAGE Reference Online

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip