This is the "Introduction" page of the "E-Book Collections Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Book Collections Guide  

A brief listing of the major e-book providers and platforms available at UNT.
Last Updated: May 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.unt.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MAJOR E-BOOK COLLECTIONS at UNT

Below is an alphabetical list of the major publishers and providers of e-books available at UNT. You can read details on the main focus of specialized e-book collections. Platform specifics are also provided, as well as tutorials on how to navigate within proprietary e-book readers, where applicable. Click on the letter tab above or provider name below to go to detailed information.

A
ABC-CLIO

C
CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Credo Reference

E
Early English Books Online
eBooks on EBSCOhost
ebrary

G
Gale Virtual Reference Library

I
IGI Global

M
Morgan & Claypool

O
Oxford Reference Online

S
Safari Tech Books Online
SAGE
ScienceDirect
SME Source
Springer

T
Taylor & Francis

W
Wiley

 

Search for Materials

Search for articles in thousands of e-journals and databases.

Advanced Search

Searches: Full-Text articles in "scholarly" journals, available online & in "any" discipline.» Change These Criteria.

Note that coverage of some material types is quite extensive, while others are more limited. For the broadest search, select Any type, and then further refine your search after your initial query.

Unselect all for the broadest possible search.



 

Use the catalog to search for books, music, media, print and other library-owned materials.

Search Type: or Journal Title | Author & Title | Number (ISBN, etc.)
Search Term(s):

Advanced Search

Collection:
 
Search by Name:
 
Browse by Subject:
 
   

Searches online content hosted in the UNT Digital Library, The Portal to Texas History, and The Gateway to Oklahoma History.

Search Term(s):  
Search Type:
 
 

↑ Search for Materials - e-books ↑

In the Search for Materials box above, click on the Books & Media tab. Then click on the down arrow on the Collection pull-down menu and highlight to select Electronic Resources; click once more to select. Enter your subject-specific words in the Search Term(s) field and hit Submit Query. Refine your search using Advanced Search.

 

E-BOOKS at UNT

This guide has information to help you search for and find e-books at UNT, as well as download and print e-book pages. It also has information about e-reader software, uploading e-books to your device of choice, and how to cite e-books.

About 1/2 million e-book titles are available in the UNT catalog and more are added on a daily basis.

You can read UNT's e-books on most devices, such as: computers, laptops, tablets, e-readers, and smartphones. The number of pages that can be printed, copied, or downloaded vary depending on the e-book platform.

Getting Started

Q - What is an e-book?

A - An e-book (also known as an electronic book) is a book-length publication in digital form, consisting of text and images (or both), readable via computer or other electronic device.

Wikipedia provides general information about e-books, as well as comparisons of e-book formats and e-book readers.

Q - Why isn't the book I want in e-book format?

A - Many publishers do not publish e-book versions at the same time as the print book version—many times there's a delay of 3 to 6 months after the print publication before an e-book version is available. Also, even though a publisher may sell an e-book version to individuals, they may not offer that e-book title for sale to academic libraries. Lastly, publishers often charge a much higher price to academic libraries, since there's a potential for much higher usage—these prices vary depending on the publisher or platform, and can be as much as 500% more than the price charged to an individual. Because of budget restrictions, UNT may not be able to acquire the title cost effectively or in a timely manner in e-book format.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
Marie Bloechle
 

Adobe Digital Editions

What is Adobe Digital Editions?

In order to download full titles to your laptop, computer or handheld device, you will need to create a free Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) account by simply going to adobe.com, and providing a username and password of your choice.

With ADE, you may download up to 10 titles at a time and have off-line access to your downloaded titles for up to 14 days. You may return a full title download early and within your ADE account you may also do the following:

  • Take notes
  • Show facing pages
  • Print
  • Transfer titles to handheld devices

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip