Government publications and related information on various aspects of K-12 and college teaching and learning in the United States.
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2013
We've moved! Several of the links listed below will not work yet. We'll try to get that corrected ASAP.
- K-12 Educators
- Education and Training
Selected government information and services for students, parents, and teachers in primary, secondary, and higher education.
This official U.S. government Web site provides college students and their families with easy access to information and resources from all parts of the U.S. government.
- Financial Aid
Resources and advice for students and financial aid professionals.
- Student Aid on the Web
Free information on preparing for and funding education beyond high school. See also the Education Department's Financial Aid
page. If you're exploring options for paying for college, see Find Aid
to learn about the various kinds of financial aid (loans, grants, and work-study), how to apply, common myths, and more. Financial aid professionals at banks, colleges, guaranty agencies, and other postsecondary or lending institutions should consult the U.S. Education Department's Information for Financial Aid Professionals (IFAP) Library
for technical publications, regulations, and policy guidance on the administration of the student financial assistance programs.
- Education - Wex
This Web site provides a brief overview of education law and includes links to federal and state statutes, regulations, and court cases related to education.
- U.S. Department of Education (ED)
This cabinet department formulates federal funding programs involving education and enforces federal educational laws regarding privacy and civil rights. Site includes links to reports on all aspects of the department's work, including student aid, laws, statistics, a school locator, and more.
- Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials from 1966 to the present and, if available, includes links to full text.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
- Texas Education Agency
This state agency oversees public primary and secondary education in the state. Web site includes curriculum guides, teacher resources, school directories, data resources and research, financial aid information, and educational statutes and regulations.
- TEKS - Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills
The official standards for curricula in Texas public schools as established by the Texas Education Agency. This Web site includes the individual chapters, a downloadable PDF copy, educators' guides, and graduation requirements.
- State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC)
This agency prepares educators for certification, manages the development and administration of certification exams and proficiency tests, monitors the quality of educator preparation at universities and alternative certification programs, issues credentials to qualified applicants, and enforces disciplinary rules.
- University Interscholastic League (UIL)
This organization, which operates as part of the University of Texas, creates rules for and sometimes administers almost all athletic, music, and academic contests for public elementary and secondary schools in Texas. Web site includes rules and guidelines, forms, contest results, and news stories.