Guides: Government Information Connection: History Portal: U.S. History on the web

A short list of History basic resources on the web

National Archives & Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.
Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum, education, and research complex. Access a number of online exhibits, collections and research tools.
The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project, non-profit and non-partisan, is the leading source of presidential documents on the internet. Hosted by the University of California at Santa Barbara.
Presidential Libraries
Presidential Libraries and Museums promote understanding of the presidency and the American experience. NARA oversees libraries for presidents since Franklin Delano Roosevelt.
H-Net Commons
H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web.
Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas
The Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection is one of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America and Latin@ Studies.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Schmoburg Center for Research in Black History
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is one of the world’s leading cultural institutions devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences
Gateway to Women's History
The Gateway to Women's History is an online site providing electronic access to primary source materials from the Woman's Collection at Texas Woman's University.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress hosts a number of online collections and other resources for researchers of history as well as other topics.
Web Guides by the Library of Congress Digital Reference Section

Looking for more exciting government-related topics. Check out the UNT Libraries' Sycamore Stacks Blog: https://blogs.library.unt.edu/sycamore-stacks/

UNT Digital Library

The UNT Digital Library, created by Digital Projects, http://digital.library.unt.edu/ contains a vast quantity of historical documents.

To browse, use this URL: http://digital.library.unt.edu/explore/partners/UNTGD/browse/ Once in, search by Collection.

You may also need to go to the Portal to Texas History. See the detailed description on the Texas tab of this guide.

University Libraries

Government Information Connection: History Portal

ABOUT

REFERENCE

HELP

A short list of History basic resources on the web

UNT Digital Library

Government Information Connection: History Portal

A short list of History basic resources on the web

UNT Digital Library

Additional Links