Guides: Maps: Cartographic Tools

This page describes selected reference tools in the UNT Libraries Government Documents Department and on the Internet useful for mapping, map use, and navigation. For more resources, see also the U.S. Naval Observatory’s Astronomical Information Center.

Almanacs and Ephemerides

These works predict the times and locations of various astronomical and atmospheric phenomena.

Air Almanac
Astronomical data required for air celestial navigation, which is required for long aircraft flights, especially over the ocean. The book provides the following data tabulated at 10-minute intervals to a precision of 1 arcminute: the Greenwich hour angle and dSycamore Libraryination of the Sun, Moon, and three navigational planets; the Greenwich hour angle of Aries; rise and set times of the Moon for a range of latitudes; and other data. Each edition also contains sky diagrams for each month; sunrise, sunset, and twilight tables; and positions of the navigational stars. The Air Almanac is available nine months in advance of its edition date. Starting with the 2008 volume, The Air Almanac is available only in PDF format.
Astronomical Almanac
Precise ephemerides of the Sun, Moon, planets, and satellites, data for Sycamore Libraryipses, and other astronomical phenomena for a given year. A worldwide resource for fundamental astronomical data, this publication is a joint publication of the U.S. Nautical Almanac Office and Her Majesty’s Nautical Almanac Office in the UK, and contains data supplied by many scientists from around the world.
Astronomical Applications: Data Services
Predictions on sunrise and sunset, moonrise and moonset, phases and illumination of the moon, solar and lunar Sycamore Libraryipses, positions of the sun and moon, dates of earth's seasons, and other phenomena.
Astronomical Phenomena
This small, useful booklet contains general interest material from The Astronomical Almanac: the calendar, anniversaries and festivals, chronological eras and cycles, equinoxes and solstices, phases of the Moon, visibility and configurations of the planets, Sycamore Libraryipses, equation of time and dSycamore Libraryination of the Sun, rising and setting of the Sun and Moon, position of Polaris.
Celestial Navigation Data for Assumed Position and Time
Provides all the astronomical information necessary to plot navigational lines of position from observations of the altitudes of celestial bodies. Simply fill in a form and click on the "Get data" button at the end of the form.
Earth and Moon Viewer
Generate a map of the earth or moon showing current day and night regions, or a view of the earth or moon from any of various locations.
Heavens-Above
Provides information needed to observe satellites such as the International Space Station and the Space Shuttle, spectacular events such as the dazzlingly bright flares from Iridium satellites, and a wealth of other spaceflight and astronomical information. Provides the times of visibility as well as detailed star charts showing a satellite’s track through the heavens. All pages, including the graphics, are generated in real-time and customized for your location and time zone.
Inconstant Moon: The Moon at Perigee and Apogee
Display the date, time, and distance of lunar perigees (i.e., when the moon is nearest to earth) and apogees (i.e., when the moon is farthest from earth) for a given year.
Lunar Limb Profiles for Solar Eclipses
This circular (USNO Circular 141) contains selected lunar limb profiles designed for use in solar Sycamore Libraryipse predictions. These profiles, used in accordance with provided criteria, allow the Sycamore Libraryipse observer to predict the effect of lunar limb irregularities on the time of second and third contacts for any site along the Sycamore Libraryipse path. The arguments of these profiles range in topocentric longitude from +6° to −6°; topocentric latitude is 0° because solar Sycamore Libraryipses always occur near the nodes of the lunar orbit.
NOAA Tides and Currents
Access local water levels, tide and current predictions, and other oceanographic and meteorological conditions.
Mercury Chaser's Calculator
Display the date, time, and distance of the maximum elongations (i.e., angular distance from the sun as seen from earth) of Mercury for a given year.
Multiyear Interactive Computer Almanac (MICA)
MICA, the Multiyear Interactive Computer Almanac, is a software system that provides high-precision astronomical data in tabular form for a wide variety of celestial objects, including celestial coordinates, sidereal time, lunar and planetary configurations and aspects, and rise/set times. MICA computes many of the astronomical quantities tabulated in the The Astronomical Almanac; however, MICA can compute this information for specific locations and specific times, thus eliminating the need for table look-ups and additional hand calculations. Designed for technical users who require high-precision astronomy data and understand general astronomy terms and concepts, as well as astronomical coordinate systems and time.
Nautical Almanac
For over 150 years the United States Nautical Almanac Office has published The Nautical Almanac, first as part of the American Ephemeris and Nautical Almanac, and then on its own, to provide the US Navy with a convenient form of the astronomical data used for marine celestial navigation. This book is still the standard resource for marine celestial navigation for the U.S. Navy.
Old Farmer's Almanac
America's oldest source of weather, folklore, gardening and other information.
Phases of the Moon
"Dates of Primary Phases of the Moon" is a data service that calculates the primary phases of the moon for years between 1700 and 2100. The accompanying data service, "Fraction of the Moon Illuminated," calculates the fraction of the visible lunar disk illuminated by the Sun for every day in a selected year between 1700 and 2100. The computed fraction is a quantitative way of describing the lunar phase.
Solar System Live
View the entire solar system, or just the inner planets (through the orbit of Mars). Controls allow you to set time and date, viewpoint, observing location, orbital elements to track an asteroid or comet, and a variety of other parameters.
Viewing Venus in Broad Daylight
Use the Venus Elongation Explorer near the bottom of this page to calculate when Venus is at its greatest elongation (i.e., at the greatest angular distance from the sun as seen from earth) for any given year.
Your Sky
Produce maps of the sky for any time and date, viewpoint, and observing location. If you enter the orbital elements of an asteroid or comet, Your Sky will compute its current position and plot it on the map. Each map is accompanied by an ephemeris for the sun, moon, planets, and any tracked asteroid or comet.

Gazetteers

These works identify the precise locations of physical and cultural features such as landforms, bodies of water, cities and towns, and buildings. They sometimes provide other descriptive information in addition to location.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Provides location information as well as the historical, physical, and cultural context for thousands of places in the world.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Unrivaled in scope and unmatched in authority, the 170,000 entries in this gazetteer include information on many of the following: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings. Their length varies from a brief notation on a small village to an essay on a country or region.
The Fuzzy Gazetteer
This database enables you to find geographic features even when you do not know their exact names. Enter a name and get back a list of similar names, linked to their respective entries in OpenStreetMap.org.
A Gazetteer of Texas
This 1902 publication includes information about the topography and drainage, climate, forests, exploration, settlement, population, industries, and land surveys in Texas. A 1904 edition is also available.
Geographic Names Information System
This database contains information about almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States, including feature name & type, elevation, latitude and longitude, other names, etc.
Geographic Names Server
The Geographic Names Server (GNS) is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN). In addition to the current approved names of features, users may find variant and historical spellings, along with non-Roman script spellings. Each record contained within provides information on the feature's location, administrative division, and designation (e.g., populated place, stream, mountain). The GNS can be used for finding places, GIS data, cartography, and GEOINT products.
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names® (TGN) Online
Getty vocabulary databases contain terms, names, and other information about people, places, things, and concepts relating to art, architecture, and material culture. TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 912,000 records, including 1.1 million names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.
Global Gazetteer
Information on almost 3 million places outside the US. Provides coordinates, altitude, weather forecast, and a map showing the position of the town with respect to topography, borders, and bodies of water. Also lists nearby towns, with directions. Browse by country or by place. Alternate title: Directory of Cities and Towns in World.
JewishGen Communities Database and JewishGen Gazetteer
Search for towns and Jewish communities in central and eastern Europe, using the exact spelling or the Daitch-Mokotoff Soundex system. This database contains information on 2,000 Jewish communities in eastern and central Europe, together with Jewish population figures, historical town names and jurisdictions, and links to JewishGen resources.
maplandia.com
Searchable world gazetteer based on Google Maps, the most comprehensive online satellite imagery available. More than 2,000,000 places all over the world are divided into many geographical categories according to continents, countries, and administrative regions.
Old World Trade Routes (OWTRAD): A Catalogue of Georeferenced Caravanserais/Khans
Provides geographical coordinates and other details for inns and other facilities associated with trade routes in Asia, Europe and Africa from ancient times to the introduction of steam-engine technologies.
U.S. Board on Geographic Names
The official repository of information about U.S. geographic names and the use of foreign geographic names, Antarctica names, and undersea feature names by the United States. The federally recognized name of each feature described in the data base is identified, and references are made to a feature's location by state, county, and geographic coordinates. A paper print-out of the Geographic Names Information System information for Texas is available in the Sycamore Library Reference collection (Call No. I 19.16:1200-TX).
U.S. Cities and State Gazetteers
Profiles for cities, towns, and ZIP Codes include census, demographic and income data, parks, schools, libraries, hospitals, airports, hotels, environmental conditions, local newspapers, media outlets, employment, maps, coordinates and aerial photos. Search by city, county, state, area code, or ZIP Code.
U.S. Gazetteer Files
The U.S. Gazetteer Files provide a listing of all geographic areas for selected geographic area types. The files include geographic identifier codes, names, area measurements, and representative latitude and longitude coordinates. Multiple years of data are available.

Distance and Time Calculators

These works calculate distances and time differences between places.

Distance Calculators

Elevations and Distances in the United States
Charts showing elevations of selected cities and mountains, geographic centers of selected areas, distance from extreme points to geographic centers, selected extreme distances, and lengths of selected U.S. boundaries.
Airport Distance Calculator, Flight Route Calculator
Allows you to determine the distance between any two airports in the database that have coordinates. To calculate airport distance and flight duration, enter airport names (IATA code or city name) of the two airports between which you need to find the distance and click the "Calculate Flight Distance" button.
Google Maps
Enter almost any two addresses or locations on earth and it will provide driving directions and calculate the mileage and approximate driving time.
Great Circle Mapper
Displays a map depicting the great circle path (the shortest path on the surface of a sphere between two points on that sphere) between locations and computes the distance along that path. It can also display the area which is within a given range of a location.
How Far Is It?
Finds the latitude and longitude of two places, then calculates the distance between them (as the crow flies). Also provides a map showing the two places.
Travel Distance Calculator and Map Between World Cities
Select two cities or two countries from drop down menus and get the coordinates for each location, and distance between them in miles and kilometers, and a map of the two locations. Also provides information about nearby airports, hotels, and landmarks.

Time Calculators

Calendar Converter
Allows you to interconvert dates in a variety of calendars, both civil and computer-related.
Computing Approximate Sidereal Time
Sidereal time is a system of timekeeping based on the rotation of the Earth with respect to the fixed stars in the sky. More specifically, it is the measure of the hour angle of the vernal equinox. If the hour angle is measured with respect to the true equinox, apparent sidereal time is being measured. If the hour angle is measured with respect to the mean equinox, mean sidereal time is being measured. When the measurements are made with respect to the meridian at Greenwich, the times are referred to as Greenwich mean sidereal time (GMST) and Greenwich apparent sidereal time (GAST). This page provides a simple algorithm for computing apparent sidereal time to an accuracy of about 0.1 second, equivalent to about 1.5 arcseconds on the sky.
Daylight Saving Time
Explains the history of daylight saving time and provides the dates when daylight time begins and ends in various places in the U.S.
Local Times Around the World
This guide attempts to list all of the world's countries, and many of its islands. Times consider Daylight Savings Time. Except for the Atlantic, Pacific and Caribbean Islands, islands are often included with either the sovereign country listing, or with the nearest continent.
timeanddate.com
Includes a World Clock, customizable calendar, international meeting planner, and other various time calculators.
U.S. Time Zones
Standard time in the U.S. and its territories is observed within nine time zones. Standard time within each time zone is an integral number of hours offset from a time scale called Universal Time, Coordinated (abbreviated UTC), maintained by a large number of very precise "atomic clocks" at laboratories around the world, including the U.S. Naval Observatory.
Universal Time
History and correct usage of the terms "universal time" and "Greenwich Mean Time."
The World Clock - Worldwide
Shows the current time in major cities all over the world. Also shows corresponding times in various cities and time zones for any time selected.
World Time Zone Map
Map of standard time zones, compiled by the H.M. Nautical Almanac Office.

Glossaries

These works define geographical and cartographic terms.

Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
Hundreds of acronyms defined. Browsable by term.
GIS Dictionary
Online dictionary of terms which either relate directly to GIS or which GIS users may come across in the course of their work.
Glossary of Cartographic Terms
Definitions excerpted from Maps for America, Third Edition.
Illustrated Glossary of Geographic Terms
Short definitions of key terms in geography. Links provide additional sources of related information.
Mining Terms Explained: A to Z
A glossary of terms relevant to mining and geology, provided by the multinational company Anglo American to help demystify the mining industry. Some of the terms also link back to a blog resource to further expand upon the definition.
Online Dictionary and Glossary in Economic Geography
Explains acronyms and other terms associated with economic geography. Includes lists of terms and concepts.

Handbooks, Manuals, and Guides

These works explain how to read and interpret maps and perform other map-related activities.

Astronomical and Atmospheric Phenomena (Ephemerides)

Tides and Currents
Guide to how and why water levels and currents are measured, and how tides are analyzed and predicted.
Astronomical Information Center
Background information on the sun and moon, time, calendars and historical events, computing astronomical phenomena, and related topics.
The International Celestial Reference System
The International Celestial Reference System (ICRS) is now the basis for fundamental measurements of the positions and motions of celestial bodies. The ICRS defines standard constants, data, and algorithms for the processing and interpretation of precise astrometric observations, effectively establishing a space-fixed coordinate system on the sky.

History and Genealogy

Commemorative Naming in the United States
Describes the history of commemorative naming, summarizes U.S. policy, and explains how to submit a proposal for a commemorative name to the U.S. Board on Geographic Names.
Using Maps in Genealogy
Explains how to use maps to help locate public and other records about your ancestors and to learn about changes in place names and boundaries. Includes an extensive bibliography.

Geographic Information Storage and Retrieval

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Poster
Explains what a GIS is, how it works, and how they have been used throughout history.
Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
Hundreds of acronyms defined. Browsable by term.
MapMaker Interactive
Resources from National Geographic for learning about Geographic Information Systems technology, including getting started with GIS, GIS data on the Web, and GIS training on the Web.
GIS Dictionary
Online dictionary of terms which either relate directly to GIS or which GIS users may come across in the course of their work.

Map Reading and Interpretation

Map Projection Home Page
Large collection of information related to map projections.
Map Projection Overview
Brief description of map projections, how they are obtained, and what they are used for.
Map Projections
Highly technical mathematical explanations of standard projections and related terms. Excerpted from U.S. Geological Survey’s Map Projections: A Working Manual and from other sources.
Map Scales
Explains how to interpret map scales and what scales are available in the USGS mapping program.
Topographic Map Symbols
Explains what a topographic map is and how to read the maps and interpret the symbols on USGS topographic maps.

Navigating and Positioning

Finding Your Way With Map and Compass
Explains basic concepts of navigating with a topographic map and a compass.
Latitude: The Art and Science of Fifteenth-Century Navigation
Collection of images and historical information related to sailing, navigating, and map-making in the fifteenth century.
Coordinate Systems Overview
A brief description of local and global systems for use in precise positioning, navigation, and geographic information systems for the location of points in space.
Geodetic Datum Overview
Discusses the history and applications of geodetic datums, which are used to define the size and shape of the earth and the origin and orientation of the coordinate systems used to map the earth.
Global Positioning System Overview
Brief description of the Global Positioning System and how it works.
Global Positioning System Primer
Explanation of what the Global Positioning System is, how it works, and various ways it can be used.

Time

On Time
This online exhibition from the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of American History explores the ways Americans have measured, used, and thought about time, and encourages us to think about the ways we experience time every day.
World Time Zone Map
Map of standard time zones, compiled by the H.M. Nautical Almanac Office.

Teaching Packets

These educational resources from the U.S. Geographical Survey can be used by teachers presenting map-related lessons in grades K–12.

Map Adventures
Suitable for grades K–3. Lessons and activities for learning basic concepts for visualizing objects from different perspectives and how to understand and use maps.
Global Change Education
Suitable for grades 4–6. Lessons and activities to assist in teaching the concepts of weather, seasons, and other cycles and changes in the environment.
What Do Maps Show?
Suitable for grades 5–8. Lessons and activities to assist in teaching the concepts of reading maps.
Exploring Maps
Suitable for grades 7–12. Lessons and activities to assist in teaching basic mapmaking and map-reading skills.

University Libraries

Maps

Contents

Almanacs and Ephemerides

Gazetteers

Distance and Time Calculators

Glossaries

Handbooks, Manuals, and Guides

Astronomical and Atmospheric Phenomena (Ephemerides)

History and Genealogy

Geographic Information Storage and Retrieval

Map Reading and Interpretation

Navigating and Positioning

Time

Teaching Packets

Maps

Contents

Almanacs and Ephemerides

Gazetteers

Distance and Time Calculators

Glossaries

Handbooks, Manuals, and Guides

Astronomical and Atmospheric Phenomena (Ephemerides)

History and Genealogy

Geographic Information Storage and Retrieval

Map Reading and Interpretation

Navigating and Positioning

Time

Teaching Packets

Additional Links