Guides: Hazards and Disaster Research to Respond to Global Crises: Find Articles

Search for Materials

Databases

The indexes below are particularly useful for locating disaster research. Many include full text of articles.

EBSCOhost.
EBSCOhost Provides access to various EBSCO databases which can all be searched simultaneously.
Communication & mass media complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. Cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Includes full text for over 450 journals. Dates of Coverage: varies by title, some start at 1915 to present.
Environment complete
This resources offers patrons full-text access to over 1,300 journals and monographs in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and related areas of study, as well regular access to more than 2,500 domestic and international journals.
Family & society studies worldwide
Family & Society Studies Worldwide- coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare Dates of Coverage: 1970 to present,
Hospitality & tourism index
Hospitality and Tourism Index Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive index combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism,and Purdue's former Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index. Together, this collection will eventually contain more than 470,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s. Dates of Coverage: Varies by title.
Library & Information Science Source
Library & Information Science Source formed by the merger of Library Literature & Information Science Full Text and LISTA Full text. Indexes articles and book reviews from English and foreign-language library and information science journals. Also indexes books, chapters in conference proceedings, library school theses, and more. Contains full-text books. Covers librarianship, classification, cataloging, censorship, children's literature, copyright, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management preservation, reference, web sites and more. Provides access to author profiles. Dates of Coverage: Abstracts 1980 – current.
PsycInfo
PsycInfo via Ebscohost peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others.Contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Dates of Coverage: Journal coverage is 1872 to current. Chapter and book coverage is 1987 to current
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect connects researchers, teachers, and students to a broad array of high quality journal articles, book chapters, and supplementary data users can access over 2,000 academic journals and more than 33,000 books. ScienceDirect offers content from four major subject areas: physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. ScienceDirect also hosts a number of open-access journals.
SocINDEX with full text
SocINDEX with Full Text via EBSCO is a sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records. The database contains full text for 860+ journals, 830+ books, and 16,800+ conference papers abstracts for 1,300+ core journals, 450+ priority journals, and 2,900+ selective coverage journals extensive indexing for books, conference papers and non-periodical content and 25,000+ author profiles. Topics covered include: abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, social development and psychology, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history and research, sociological theory, substance abuse and addictions, violence, and many others. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource some citations date back to 1895.
SpringerLINK
SpringerLink is a vast database of scholarly journals and books covering broad disciplines that include biomedical sciences, business and management, chemistry, computer science, earth sciences, economics, education and language, energy, engineering, environmental sciences, food and nutrition, law, life sciences, materials, mathematics, medicine, physics, psychology, public health, social sciences, and statistics. Full-text access to over 3.5 million resources including articles, books, book chapters, journals and reference work entries is provided however, some content is not available through the UNT subscription. Dates of Coverage: Varies by publication.
Web of Knowledge
Web of Knowledge provides access to the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities by aggregating the contents of multiple databases (including Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, Zoological Record and Journal Citation Reports). WOK covers over 23,000 high-impact scholarly journals, 23 million patents, 9,000 web sites and 148,000 conference proceedings it provides exhaustive citation indexes for tracking topics or authors through time as well as links to additional external resources. Access to full-text of some resources is provided. Dates of Coverage: Varies by resource 1990s– Current, with backfiles to 1900.
If you experience access issues, go to vpn.unt.edu and log in with your euid and password, then type/paste the Libraries' url http://www.library.unt.edu and proceed as normal.
Wiley-Blackwell Journals

Noteworthy Journals

The periodicals below document research related to disaster preparedness or emergency management.

Disaster prevention and management
This journal publishes conceptual and theoretical reflections, methodological contributions, policy and practice briefings, case studies, and reports from the field to advance the available knowledge in the broad field of disaster risk reduction and management.
Disaster recovery journal
This resources publishes information on business continuity planning.
Disasters
Disasters is a quarterly journal reporting on all aspects of disaster studies, policy and management, covering complex emergencies, disaster prevention, mitigation and response policies and practices from a global perspective.
Environmental geology
This multidisciplinary journal publishes research concerned with all aspects of interaction between humans, natural resources, ecosystems, special climates or unique geographic zones, and the earth.
Human ecology
This journal publishes papers probing the complex and varied systems of interaction between people and their environment, examining the roles of social, cultural, technological and psychological factors in the maintenance or disruption of ecosystems, or the effects of population density on health, social organization, and environmental quality.
Human ecology review
This journal publishes peer-reviewed research and theory on the interaction between humans and the environment and other links between culture and nature, essays and applications relevant to human ecology, book reviews, and relevant commentary, announcements, and awards notices.
International journal of disaster resilience in the built environment
This journal promotes research and scholarly activity that examines the role of building and construction to anticipate and respond to unexpected events that damage or destroy the built environment.
International journal of disaster risk reduction
This journal publishes fundamental and applied research, critical reviews, policy papers and case studies focusing on multidisciplinary research aiming to reduce the impact of natural and technological disasters. Disciplines covered include earth sciences, environmental sciences, engineering, urban studies, geography and social sciences.
International journal of emergency management
This journal publishes research to address contingencies and emergencies as well as crisis and disaster management. Coverage includes the issues associated with: storms and flooding; nuclear power accidents; ferry, air and rail accidents; computer viruses; earthquakes etc. Approaches include multidisciplinary approaches to emergency management, visualization, simulation, optimization, cost-effectiveness, policy making, education, participative methods, conflict resolution and knowledge elicitation.
Journal of Environmental Geography
The Journal aims to publish original academic research of high scholarly standard in the fields of Geography and Environmental Science with special emphasis on human-related processes in its broader sense.
Natural hazards review
This journal is a forum for cutting edge, holistic, and cross-disciplinary approaches to natural hazards loss and cost reduction. It brings together the physical sciences (understanding the hazardous character of the world and the performance of the structures that we build to accommodate our way of life), social and behavioral sciences (for example, hazard mitigation and human response, land use, building standards, and the role of financial markets and insurance); engineering (planning, design, construction, maintenance, performance and use of structures in the physical environment); and the regulatory and policy arenas.
Risk, hazards & crisis in public policy
Risk, Hazards & Crisis in Public Policy contains scholarship on societies’ understanding of and measures to address risks and hazards, how public policies do and should address these concerns, and how a better understanding of societal hazard and risk situations may attenuate crises.
World disasters report
This annual publications from the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and the Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters is about those vulnerable people who are most likely to be affected by disasters and the local institutions which provide the mainstay of disaster prevention, preparedness and relief. The first edition appeared in 1993. Each issue has a special focus (for example, technology, forced displacement, hunger).

Subject Searches for Journals in the Catalog

The searches below will identify all periodicals in the collections of the UNT Libraries for the indicated subject heading. Some of the resulting titles may be historical issues that are stored remotely. Some electronic issues may have embargoes on their most recent content.

Disaster Journals
All journal titles in UNT collections on the topic disasters.
Disaster Relief Journals
All journal titles in UNT collections on the topic disaster relief.
Disaster Relief — Research Journals
All journal titles in UNT collections on the topic disaster relief — research.
Emergency Management Journals
All journal titles in UNT collections on the topic emergency management.
Human Ecology Journals
All journal titles in UNT collections on the topic human ecology.
Natural Disaster Journals
All journal titles in UNT collections on the topic natural disasters.
Risk Assessment Journals
All journal titles in UNT collections on the topic risk assessment.

Google Scholar Search

This search is broad and may find resources that are not immediately available from UNT Libraries. You can configure this search to have the results tell you whether you have full-text access through the UNT Libraries: start here, click on the Library Links option, search for University of North Texas System and then check the box to select it.

If UNT Libraries doesn't have it, in most instances access to materials from collections in other institutions is available through Interlibrary Loan.

Search Strategies

The search box in the left column connects to the Libraries' Find Articles discovery tool that lets you simultaneously search 92%+ of our electronic resources for articles in the humanities, social sciences, or sciences.

Keyword Search

A keyword search returns the highest number of results. The terms you search can appear in the fields for title, author, subject, main content or elsewhere within a record. These are sample keyword searches in Find Articles:

• disaster recovery

• disaster preparedness

• emergency management

• hazard mitigation

• risk assessment

Refining Your Search

To narrow the results:

• Enclose words in quotation marks to ensure that the records retrieved include the two words as a phrase: "risk assessment"

• Add more topic terms or phrases: .

• Add specific subject terms (see box below) and search again.

Suggested Subject Terms

• civil defense readiness
• crisis management
• disaster or disasters
• disaster relief
• disaster response
• emergencies
• emergency communication systems
• emergency management
• emergency management systems
• emergency measures
• emergency preparedness
• environmental disasters
• evacuation
• hazards
• humanitarian assistance
• incident command systems
• international relief
• mitigation
• natural disasters
• natural hazards
• planning
• preparedness
• public administration
• public safety
• public shelters
• Red Cross and Red Crescent
• rescue work
• resilience
• rest centers (disaster relief)
• risk assessment
• risk communication
• social welfare
• strategic management
• terrorism
• vulnerability

Hazards and Disaster Research to Respond to Global Crises: Find Articles